Any way to make my psu give me a full 12 volt line? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Any way to make my psu give me a full 12 volt line?

Like is said is there anyway to mod or configure my actual power supply to give me my full 12.00v instead of like 11.30 IN WINDOWS (dont know what it is in games). People said this is why my pc kept all together crashing and i thought they were wrong. (till i dl everest and found out im below 12, in windows no less!) So anything i can do. My dads an electrician so any electrical tools needed i probably have. I want to do this casue i cant get a psu for a couple of weeks and gaming has hit my all time high cause of the excessive amount of rain (6 days straight). Any ideas anyone?
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the only thing to do is buy a new psu and name brand this time
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Erm its to risky to mod a PSU unless you really know your workings in them....... But... buy a new one...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Thats the problem i cant and wont be able to for weeks and right now its mod a psu and if i loose it big deal. It seems its gonna die very soon anyway since everytime i look at the voltage on my 12v rail its going down.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

didnt you make a thread of this before, i mean theres a nice psu for about 40 bucks would be much better then that.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

i cant go to place for 4 weeks and the closest place is 10 miles away (idk why gay town) and i cant order online cause my mom doesnt feel secure.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 01:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Its not the PSU you have to worry about loosing...its your life. We (and I mean PC builders) don't mess with PSUs, we simply replace them. If you open it up, you run the risk of ending up a burnt spot on the floor (You'll be taking up to 300W of electricity).

Do you really want to run the risk of dieing just because you couldn't wait a few weeks to play games again?
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
If you open it up, you run the risk of ending up a burnt spot on the floor (You'll be taking up to 300W of electricity).
If you can drain it properly it's okay to work on,I found out the hard way I tried adding an extra fan with out draining it all the way and BAM!!!! my one finger slipped and i got one hell of a shock,My arm was numb for just about the whole day and plus when it hapend i even peed a little
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 01:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

ROFL. I rest my case.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Yea, if you get enough amps discharged into your body and such it can kill you easily..... I have only done one mod to a PSU and that was to cut wires out and turn it into a PSU that was allways on....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.