any such thing as CPU temps to low? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 15
Default any such thing as CPU temps to low?

i kno it may sound like a dumb question but i built a new pc and i have a LCD temp reading on the top and it tells me that the 2 sensors that i have inside r all below 30C and the one that is by my CPU is at 26C all the time i was just wonderin is that a good temp or is it to low or what thanks for the help
__________________

hard12catch33 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Unless you are reaching temperatures that are cold enough to crush your CPU, your CPU will not be damaged by any cold temperature. Your temperatures are pretty good, that's what I'm aiming for with my next computer.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yeah, those are some damn good temps. With those temps you should OC that system.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

along these lines-- im not sure how to check my temps! i couldnt find anything in my bios for it, so how can i see the temp?? is it possible i just dont have a sesnsor-equipped mobo?
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to Matrix-D
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Unless you are reaching temperatures that are cold enough to crush your CPU, your CPU will not be damaged by any cold temperature. Your temperatures are pretty good, that's what I'm aiming for with my next computer.
You would have to get your computer to REALLY cold temps to hurt your comp. Just check this is you dont belive me. http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/20031230/5ghz-01.html
These dudes oc´d a p4 to 5.25 ghz. they used liguid nitrogen for coolant and the cpu got down to -196 C.
Matrix-D is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pilotwings119
along these lines-- im not sure how to check my temps! i couldnt find anything in my bios for it, so how can i see the temp?? is it possible i just dont have a sesnsor-equipped mobo?
yes that's possible. not all mobo's have sensors on them. if they do they will have some application on the mobo cd that came with it... drivers and such...

anyhow, if you wanted to monitor the temp of your cpu, there are aftermarket sencors that you can buy... i'd look someplace like www.newegg.com or something.

~KB
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pilotwings119
along these lines-- im not sure how to check my temps! i couldnt find anything in my bios for it, so how can i see the temp?? is it possible i just dont have a sesnsor-equipped mobo?
Yeah it is possible one of my older systems is a Intel Celeron 2.4 and I bought it from a local comp store and it didnt come with any mobo sensors... Srry
OCgod* is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 04:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

If the temperature is abnormally low, I would suspect the thermal sensor is not working properly.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 06:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
If the temperature is abnormally low, I would suspect the thermal sensor is not working properly.
lol tell that to jak with his like 22C P4 2.4GHz processor

I suspect he gets bad readings on that board.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 07:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Technically, if your CPU gets below dew point, it starts to condense water on the pin side if you dont have to insulated. I think?
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.