Antec 900 Modding - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2007, 06:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Antec 900 Modding

Hello all. After extensive reading I've decided to go ahead and mod my antec 900 case. Unfortunately all I have is a drill and a jigsaw. I know a dremel would be best but there's no way for me to get one without buying it. My question is, do you think I could still get the job done with these two items? Any complications I should know about and anticipate? I saw this done by someone else in another forum and am pretty much looking to do the same - but maybe not all the zip tie holes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img2601wp0.jpg (72.0 KB, 120 views)
__________________

__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 06:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding

I've seen it done with a jigsaw. Heres kind of like a video tutorial, on how to cut out a window, but it's just like cutting a hole. He uses a dremel to make the initial cut, and then the jigsaw, to cut out the hole.

__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 11:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding

I don't see why not....instead of starting with the dremel for the initial cut you can use the drill, just make sure your bit makes a large enough hole for the jigsaw blade to reach through.

Also, a problem is going to be that your holes will be so small in comparison to the large window done in that above "how to" you probably won't be able to cut the entire hole in one shot, the corners will be too tight. You might have to pre-drill the corners and then use the jig saw to cut corner to corner in a straight line. I don't know if that makes sense when I put it into words. I would do that frequently with small cuts in wood work before I got my dremel.

Dremel would definitely be easier...no one you can borrow one off of eh?

Here are the cuts I made on my 900, note the cut in the top right drive bay so that the case wiring can be tucked behind the drive when it's inserted....the top fan power supply wire can also be tucked through there. Cuts like that may be tricky without the dremel...but the straight forward ones in the case should work..i'd think.



here is after the sanding, priming and painting. I wanted to cover the bare metal that was exposed from the sanding to remove burs.

jfenwick is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 12:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding

i dont see why it wouldnt work...just make sure to take a file after you cut to round off the edges. then take some tubing or tape and cover them up so your wires dont end up getting sliced.
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding

yup, Home Depot 1/4" flex plumbing tubing worked great, slice one side open along the length and cover the steel edges of your cuts so none of the wiring gets cut. Even makes the job look better as it smooths out the lines of your cut which may come out a little uneven like mine.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding

Yeah I'm gonna go look into some things tomorrow. You don't know how bad I wish there was a Wal*mart type place here. I'd like to paint but I'm pretty sure they won't let me do it anywhere in the city.

I have pretty similair placed holes. Attached is basically my plan. I thought about turning my HDD around but if I have it down at the bottom and go behind the mobo with the psu cables, I might save some work time. Of course I will cut the cage on the other side for future drives as in the above thread too. Also, I would cut a hole for my cpu power but the cable isn't long enough so I'm going to the left and up, and maybe in btwn my video card and mobo...we'll see. One annoying thing on the case is the length of the pwr switch and the hdd led and reset switch. The plugs on the p5k delux is all the way on the bottom right. Those cords can barely make it as it is so there's no chance to hide it behind the case. Do you guys think I can keep the atx plug coming from below the mobo. I see most people leaving it exposed and ziptying it all the way up.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Case Plan.jpg (44.9 KB, 108 views)
__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding

Mounting the hdd was a piece of work in its self. I had to cut and re-wire the SATA and power connections to 90 degree connectors, the standard connections that came with the PSU would hit the fan if I didn't re-connect the. The next step was to not only cut through the case but also the bay cases:



the power connections for the video card and fans didn't fit through the stock spaces. That would be a very tough but with just a jigsaw and drill...don't know how you'd do it.

And yeah, the length of the 900's case wires is short...they all just barely made it for me except the firewire which i'll have to either re-wire or get an extension.

I'm not sure what you mean about painting in the city....all you need is some painters tape, a can of spray paint and some open space..back yard? balcony? garage...it all works well, just make sure there is some ventilation for the fumes and it's not a windy day.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 05:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding

make sure you cut the holes in the right place. i didnt need to cut a hole for my 24pin.

also dont cut more than you need. cut a few to start. then go back and add more as you see fit.
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 11:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding



That's a really good idea! I'm going to plan mines out like you did.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Antec 900 Modding

as far as the hdd led, pwr sw, and reset...if the wires are too short you can always splice and butt-connect them. its simple. it's only two wires.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec P180SE and 900 decibaL Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 08-11-2007 12:06 PM
Laptop Modding SapperX Laptops and Notebooks 8 07-16-2007 09:37 PM
Antec Nine Hundred Mid Tower Case - $69.99 from Frys.com Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 36 07-10-2007 12:16 PM
Middle Fan in Antec P180 Case Graham Overclocking and Modding 3 05-23-2007 05:28 PM
Will this fit in an Antec 900? Pls help... Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-16-2007 07:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.