Antec 900 Case Modding Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2010, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,025
Default Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

So let's see.. I want to drill some holes in the case and flip my PSU upside down. Here's a picture:



I wanted to stress how little room I had for airflow in all directions (it's pretty cramped), but it doesn't get hot, so I'm not really concerned too awful much about that.

The only hole I'm really concerned with is the one down there to the right of the CPU, which won't be any problem.

Are the other two holes necessary? Is a procedure like this recommended for the minimal amount of room have? It rarely gets hot. I mean when it's running, I can stick my hand in the case and feel a large amount of airflow from the two front fans going to the back fan and the top fan.

And about flipping the PSU upside down: Should I have to worry too much about airflow? I drew the two red boxes on the top and bottom to show how much room I had for airflow. I have the top fan set to the minimal speed. The other three fans do not have a setting for speed. the processor fan spins at about 850 average when idling.

I have all the necessary tools for a job like this, so nothing to worry about there.

Thanks for any input into this
__________________

__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is online now  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

Here's my process of it.. used a dremel and foam tape to keep from scratching the PSU and to keep vibrations to a null.. it's an easy mod, but you'll prolly end up re-wiring half of your case while you're in there.. Check out the reverse mount HDD mod too.. Kind of a pain if you don't have the right SATA power cables, but it's still doable.


There is SOME room for airflow, but if you can find some riser type of feet for the computer, that would probably be a good idea.. It's also nice as to not be dropping screws into the top of the PSU fan anymore!

The holes help a lot. I drilled one in the exact location near the PSU. Just get some goop and some very small plastic or rubber hose and slice it down the middle to protect the wires from the cut edge of the case. Your rig placement seems to be kind of killing the purpose of the top fan.. it doesn't seem like it has much room to flow any air out of the top.
Modding my Antec 900.. Progress pics.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

Here's my Mod of my 900.
i shoe horned 2 260s and a Silverstone psu into mine...... Very tight!

900 goes a chop chop.

While looking messy, its a great dual job.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

I recommend cutting a hole in the bottom under the power supply so it can breath when you flip it. The other holes shouldn't be a problem though I would remove all the components prior to any cutting and you should invest in some molding for the newly cut edges.

U-channel edge molding
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

grab some foam tape while you are at it

use tape around the PSU hole you are going to cut

noise dampening
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,025
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

Yeah, I planned on drilling holes on the bottom when I flip the PSU over and will probably put some rubber feet or foam or something under the PSU (not under the case itself)

As for the edge molding.. I have quite a bit laying around here. I've got all the tools.. Going pick up some paint and paint the inside, too

I am also going to cut holes on the side where the hard drives are mounted like in the video.. I hadn't though about that. Hopefully all my cables reach.. If not I can just pick some more up.

Anything I should worry about? What about taking the case apart? Can I just leave the entire physical case intact and paint the inside that way? I'd be taking out the drive bays, the rear fan, and the back cover off, too.
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is online now  
Old 01-21-2010, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

One thing I found is when cutting into the mobo tray, try to support the thin sheet metal, or your pressure will cause the panel to bend and distort your cuts.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 09:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

^ Depends on how hard you press.. I didn't support mine and it turned out fine.

If you want to paint the case, take everything out and sand the case down or scuff it up REAL good with some green 3m scrubber pad. That stuff works great and won't gouge the existing paint.. 2 THIN coats of primer, scuffed between, and then three or so coats of the paint color of your choice letting every coat dry for about 1/2 hr between coats.. LIGHT COATS!!! it will look like crap if you glop the paint on and try to get full coverage with the first coat.

It will be a project, but it depends on how bad you want it..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 09:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,025
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

Good to know that, I don't really want to buy a replacement right now Just getting a little bored with this one, want to spice things up a little

About the paint.. I also have some primer.. my dad and brother finished restoring a Camaro not too long ago, so we've got almost any tool you could imagine
__________________
7700k • 32GB RAM • 512GB 960 Pro • GTX 1080 • NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is online now  
Old 01-21-2010, 09:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Antec 900 Case Modding Help!

^ Oh you're speaking my language now! I'm a gearhead by DNA.. I've got a 480bhp 2000 Camaro Z28 LS1 6 speed LOADED with mods.. I've painted my share of stuff before.. just thought I'd throw the info out there as others have started threads regarding painting their cases and wanted to know EXACTLY why and if he should sand the case and prime it... We explained (Techies here) that sanding and priming gives the paint a bit of a 'tooth' to bite and adhere to..


good to hear then..
Check my car out.. i gotta update that page one of these days.. Mods are up to date, though. I painted my hood, the back manta.. Gotta take some new pics this spring.
Garages > 35057's 2000 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 - FQuick.com
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooler master sileo or nzxt hush or antec solo or antec sonata case don11 System Upgrades 21 12-09-2009 03:07 PM
Modding a case, swapping out lights. (XION AXP 100 Gaming Series AXP100-001BK Black) Seria Overclocking and Modding 3 10-30-2009 07:55 PM
how dusty does the Antec 900 get? Joeyboy New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-02-2008 02:36 AM
Case Modding Basics... Steel vs Aluminum? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 26 02-23-2008 08:06 PM
Antec 900 stock fans question MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 7 01-24-2008 06:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.