Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2009, 07:22 PM   #61 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
great watch!
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 07:46 PM   #62 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

Very similar to what I'm doing except I put my hole on the side and cut through the cage. I'll post a photo later. I can only mount 2HDDs this way but I do have the hole in the bottom should I ever to go 3 or more down the road.

Here is what I did with the terminal block:





I ended up using a larger terminal block as the block i got wasn't as flush and once three fans were connected to each terminal the cover wouldn't go back on the case.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 10:19 PM   #63 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

Pretty much done with the PSU:



I had 120 feet of the sleeving but still ran out :P A couple of the cables hiding behind the mobo didn't get done, but they will be out of site. Next time I'll order 150 feet...if i do this type of sleeving job again. As mentioned previously, all the extra sleeving made the cables not only too thick to pass through the original hole in the psu casing but too thick to even go through the hole after I removed the manufacturer protective sleeving.



Used the dremel to widen the hole and some u-channeling from mnpctech.com to protect the wires from getting cut down the road.

Now I just need that 4th gpu from poizen22
jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 11:46 PM   #64 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

4th gpu.... I would say that's a lot of power! The sleeving does look really cool, about how much thicker does it make each wire? I'm starting to wonder if you will have any other problems with the wires not fitting in places, I know you already pointed out then being behind the mobo.
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 09:04 AM   #65 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

The sleeving is thin and doesn't add a lot to a single wire....but it has that rough texture so when multiplied by 80+ wires coming out of the psu it definitely adds up. I have another 750 PC P&C psu that is identical except blue, before the build is done I'll take some comparative photos of the wire mass, stock vs mod. I'd say that it's almost doubled the wire girth coming out of the psu now.

Yeah, my two concerns for now are these wires fitting behind the mobo tray and then also fitting between the mobo. Considering I have the 24pin power supply, 5 PCI-e power supplies and an additional mobo molex power supply all coming from the same side of the board I'm a bit concerned that I won't be able to squeeze the mobo down low enough to get the screws in.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 11:44 AM   #66 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

Man... is TO really that boring?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 12:59 PM   #67 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

It is for us country boy geeks

So all this has gotten me wondering what else might pose a problem and although I was initially re-assured that the 750watt psu would support quad gpu I'm not so sure. It just looks to me that 3 8800gts and a 9800gtx+ might push it beyond it's capabilities. I would have tested this first but I only have the 3 gpus right now as I'm still waiting for the last 8800gts from poizen22.

Lol, that would really screw up this project :P Especially as countless hours have been put in on sleeving the psu.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 02:12 PM   #68 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

lmao. i dont know. the PSU that's in my sig has powerd my GTX 260 core 216 along with my old 9800GTX (used for physx and second monitor) it ran it just fine. no problems. but 3 8800GTS's and a 9800GTX might be a bit much.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 02:44 PM   #69 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

Yeah, I have the silencer 750 in my dual 260 rig and I did some testing with the 9800gtx+ and 2 8800gts but nothing with quad gpus....lol, dude I will laugh myself silly if this doesn't work....then i'll cry once it sinks in.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 05:02 PM   #70 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Antec 1200 Quad gpu folding rig

Itll run them just fine.....there was a guy running a tri-sli GTX 260 system if i remember right plus an oc'd quad on the same psu.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU folding performance list. Luke Folding @ Home 38 03-28-2009 10:09 AM
Quad GPU motherboard recommendations for folding rig jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-18-2009 08:28 PM
linux GPU and other kmote Folding @ Home 5 12-26-2008 10:24 PM
Folding At Home (F@H) Nvidia + ATI GPU's Now Supported. ricanflow Folding @ Home 36 11-22-2008 02:15 AM
Antec 1200....HOTNESS veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 20 01-11-2008 02:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.