Annoying Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default Annoying Problem

I finally got my computer running sort of, i get to the BIOs and then it checks the processor, memory and then when it gets to IDE devices it says system failure insert system disk. So i attempted to open the disc tray and load my OS but the disc drive wont open. Can anyone help me, please im so close to having it working.
__________________

__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Did you make sure your IDE's were thoroughly connected? Do you have a disk stuck in the floppy drive? Have you tried using a paperclip to stick in the tiny little 'emergency open' hole that is common for CD drives to have.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

My disc drive is connected to the IDE 2(secondary) and is set to master. My hard drive is on the Primary and is set to slave. IS there anything wrong with that setup?
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Yes, Put the Hard drive on primary/master and the Disc drive to Secondary/Master. Slave is used when you run two devices off of one plug.

For example you could use the HD AND CD drive on primary, with the HD/Master and the CD/Slave. I don't think that is causing the problem though. Check to make sure the CD drive is the first Device in the boot list and also that it has power running to it through the 4pin molex connector.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

AS far as i can tell the cd drive isnt first on the boot list, it goes main processor, memory, ddr speed and then it says detecting IDE devices... My cd drive is on secondary/master and my hard drive is on primary/master so i dont understand what the problem is.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 08:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

OK heres what the computer says when i try to start up.

Ide Channel 0 Master: my hard drive
Ide Channel 0 Slave: None
Ide channel 1 Master: None(should be my cd drive)
Ide channel 1 slave: None
Ide channel 2 master: None
Ide channel 3 master: none

Then it goes on to say disk boot failure please insert disk, and well i cant because the cd drive is not being recognized for some reason.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 08:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Okay, is it a problem to put them both on the same cable? simply set the jumpers accordingly (mast/slave, not CS), and it wont matter which order they're in, although I am assuming that the CD drive will be on the end of cable.

Make them both on cable IDE 0, or IDE 1.

Forget about the other cable, If this works, at least we know it is not a drive problem.

If you feel it is imperative for you to have them on seperate cables, then switch the cable out, and do the same thing with the other cbale, to make sure they both still work. THEN put them on their own cable each, and at this point, the jumpers shouldn't matter. Simply the Hard drive should be on the IDE 0, and CD on IDE 1. (Unless your IDE's are numbered 1 & 2.).

Hope this helps.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 09:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

ok ill try my hard drive on primary(IDE 1) master and my cd drive on primary slave.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 09:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Ok im really confused now because the cd drive opens now but it doesnt recognize it as the slave. It also says at the bottom cable conductor 80 not connected.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

There should be a very tiny hole adjacent to the drive door. Take a pin or a needle and stick it in there and push hard until your drive pops out. This fix will work for now but if this problem arises again and continues to happen, consider replaacing your drive.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.