AMD X2 Stock Heat Sink/Fans? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2006, 05:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default AMD X2 Stock Heat Sink/Fans?

Hi Guys.

Just a quick one about stock heat sink and fans that come with the Athlon Dual Core processors.

I am terrified of buying a zalman or thermaltake typhoon and some AS5 and putting them on myself incase I stuff things up and cook my CPU.

I am however comfortable with putting on the stock HSF's that come with the CPU's have done that a few times now.

Are the stock HSF's that come with the Dual Core AMD's still ok to use? I would assume they are otherwise AMD wouldnt ship their chips with them?

Any thoughts would be appreciated, I'm not an overclocker, but I do game heaps.

Cheers
Cub
__________________

__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 05:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, they are OK.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 05:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

Thanks for that, I know it would probably be better to use some AS5 and a nice zalman or Tt HSF, but I just can't do it. I think when I get my new rig set up, i'll experiment on my old one with some AS5, if I kill my old AMD 2.4 it's no big deal. I don't want to take my chances first time on an AMD X2 though.

Cheers!
__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 06:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

for one thing is the only problem you can do it appling to much and it would increase the cpu temp and not decrease it which even if your cpu gets to hot most of hte newer motherboards well shut the computer off if it does get hot enoguht for it to fry. You only apply only like the size of a pen tip not much more. Theres nothing to be scared about its hardly impossible to mess up useing as5. (i have to say for some people they can do it very easy tho) there are things you can read about applin thermal paste read those and it well help you alot.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 08:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the new generation HSF that started shipping i think about the time of the introduction of the X2 range (the one with the single retaining clip that should be compatable with the AM2 HSF cage) is pretty decent. i've overclocked to around 2.5ghz-2.6ghz (from 2.0ghz) on it without even using AS5. temps are still way within safety.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Default

Thanks for the reassurance. Im definately going stock HSF until I play around on my old pc with that AS5 stuff.
__________________
Asus A8N SLI Deluxe // AMD64 X2 4400+ Toledo // Antec True Power 2.0 550w // Tt Tsunami Case (Silver) // 2GB Nanya DDR400 // Leadtek Geforce 7900GTX 512mb // X2 WD 320GB SATA HDD // Pioneer DVR111D // Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium //
cub1971 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 12:17 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

its not as hard as it sounds to not use ur stock hsf tho
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 03:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

I have a Zalman on my X2 4800+ overclocked at 2.7GHz. Everthing is running fine.

This is my first build at it was a piece of cake to install.
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.