AMD x2 Mobo with AGP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default AMD x2 Mobo with AGP?

I am looking for a good motherboard that i could put a Athlon X2 4400+ proc in with an AGP slot. Most of my research has come up empty while looking for a decent board. The reason i want an AGP slot is i just recently found a brand new ATI x800xt all-in-wonder video card for $240, a good deal. This card only comes in AGP as far as i have seen, and i like all the TV features and such, i dont want to have to part with it unless i ABSOLUTLY have to. I am a HUGE gamer and love this card and love to overclock, so a mobo better at OCing is better for me. Any ideas anyone?
__________________

L0K185 is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 12:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

DFI Lanparty UT NF3 Ultra-D

http://www.lanparty.com.tw/press/pre...79.jsp&SITE=US

Any 939 board with a Bios update can run an X2 processor, however this is the best board.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

That looks like the perfect mobo for my needs, thanks a ton DJ-Chris
L0K185 is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

That board is very stable, great BIOS, TONS of OC options. Best bang for the buck right now.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 03:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yeap dfi yet again
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Counter-Strike
That board is very stable, great BIOS, TONS of OC options. Best bang for the buck right now.
Um, isn't this the board Nubius got and actually is unstable and in desperate need for a BIOS upgrade? He has also mentioned that this board significant'y reduced his gfx card OC potential. Maybe not the best choice. I have the heard the MSI NF3 is very stable.

But, big picture here. You really want to combine a X2 4400+ with an AGP mobo? :amazed:

That deal on that all-in-wonder really isn't all that great. I suggest you get a PCI-e card and mobo. You could get a PCI-e 6800 and seperate tuner card for the same price. Or spend a bit more and get a 6800GT.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
That board is very stable, great BIOS, TONS of OC options.
Uhh no it's not.... Once again you can tell this is one of the many threads of one person saying something, and others agreeing without knowing simply because it carries the name DFI with it.

Thanks Idiotec as you actually know whats up with this board.

It's been a toss up....theres people who's had absolutely no troubles with it, and theres been people who's had ridiculous times getting it setup...now you may say "any board can be good or sometimes fickle" but no....the amount of people having troubles with it is very high....they've put out 5 or so BIOSes now and none really offer any huge benefits.

My 6800GT went from 430/1150 to only being able to OC to 410/1120...this is not due to the card, but the NF3 chipset itself....so that's not really just THIS board itself it's the NF3 chipset.

Apparently theres a resistor on this board that shouldn't be there....it makes the CPU undervolt....compared to if you remove the resistor yourself it overvolts.

So basically it's a not so great BIOS mixed in with the boards hardware needs to be reworked and theres already talk of a revision2.

Now I had no problems setting it up for stock settings....however some people weren't that lucky and it can be picky with your RAM.

Also it seems to not like RAID to well.

DFI is not the DFI you'd come to expect quality from when it comes to this board....

go to www.dfi-street.com and theres a 230page thread dedicated to this board
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

thanks for the info guys, looks like i will be waiting a while before i upgrade my computer now, seems like its not worth the effort atm.

The best price i see on Pricewatch and Froogle is around $380 for the gfx card. i'm getting it $140 less, sounds like a good deal to me...And yes it is brand new, and no its not one of those saphire pieces of crap...
L0K185 is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Nubius I would still trade you an A8V for an NF3 DFI board anyday...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 05:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by L0K185
thanks for the info guys, looks like i will be waiting a while before i upgrade my computer now, seems like its not worth the effort atm.

The best price i see on Pricewatch and Froogle is around $380 for the gfx card. i'm getting it $140 less, sounds like a good deal to me...And yes it is brand new, and no its not one of those saphire pieces of crap...
I wasn't talking about the exact same card, I was referring to the cost of getting a seperate gfx card and capture card rather than the All-in-Wonder.

You can get a basic capture card for 40-50 bucks, wich will be just as good as the AIW performance, and then you can get a good gfx card that will beat the AIW performance, all for about the same price.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.