AMD vs Intel (question, not argument) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2006, 11:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default AMD vs Intel (question, not argument)

So AMD gets two sets of instructions per clock cycle, but Intel gets four per clock cycle..wouldn't that make Intel faster? How is AMD more efficient when Intel gets more information in a shorter timespan?

I can almost make sense of it..but then I fail.

Can anyone clear that up for me?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

that's not how it works.

it depends on the instruction, but the AMD CPU's generally take a fewer amount of clock cycles to process instructions.
just say the Pentium 4 took 20 clock cycles to process one instruction. it may take the Athlon only 12 or so (that's just a guess though)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I still don't get how Intel can be slower when they are running at twice the frequency. I guess they just suck. :P ...kidding.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

where in heck is that info coming from. the current athlons have a 14 stage pipeline and the prescott/cedar mill based cores have a 31 stage pipeline. go figure
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.