AMD vs INTEL - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: are you in a clan?
yes, and i like it 4 50.00%
yes, and it sucks 0 0%
no, but i want to be 2 25.00%
no, i don't like clans 2 25.00%
Voters: 8. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2004, 02:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to LMPG_0229
Default

AMD!!!!! better bang for your buck!
__________________

LMPG_0229 is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 03:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to DemonEyesKyo Send a message via Yahoo to DemonEyesKyo
Default

I think the intel is a faster chip the the amd but I am using a amd so I think there both good chips except the barton processors from amd..

Spider Black Case
Amd Athlon 2700+
1 gig pc 400 ddr ram
Radeon 9800 pro 128 mb
5 Western Digital 120 gig harddrives
G Force Nvidia Motherboard
Creatives 5.1 surroud sound
__________________

DemonEyesKyo is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 04:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to mokelizer Send a message via Yahoo to mokelizer
Default

why is everyone so stuck on the 64 bit systems? THERES nothing that supports it yet, anyone who buys the amd fx 51 64 bit system are guinea pigs for testing, i would laugh my arse off if when the new windows comes out and the amd cant handle it, intel tests their products then sells them, AMD sells their products then tests them then makes patches. Just My humble opinion
mokelizer is offline  
Old 02-03-2004, 03:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Seems to me that if there is so much argument over what the best system is, the two must be too close to gauge, therefore just buy the cheaper one!
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 04:46 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Well linux can handle the AMD 64 bit processor. And just comparing figures Pentium 3.2 will score almost the same amount as the 64 bit, but it was clocked at 2.2 Ghz. Thus it is a much better option....
__________________
Walking in the dark
Meck is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 09:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 62
Default Intel w/ HT rocks

Intel with its intoduction of hyperthreading, AMD is losing the war, even with AMD trying to get the new 64 off the ground, its to late; Intel is ready to send in the dogs to look for survivors, and while Intel is selling so many of these new chips, those survivers where ever they are, well have no choice but to join the Intel empire.
__________________
A test to which no one knows
Jnewt427 is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 02:03 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Come on AMD is not doing bad. Plus the new hyperthreading processors cost a lot of money. Plus AMD 64 - bit is a lot faster you have to agree. I am just waiting for them to increase their clock speed. And intel will be obselete.
__________________
Walking in the dark
Meck is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 04:05 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Yes, It is obvious that AMD is winning the war to Intel wit the AMD 64.
KwoU is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 01:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Seriously Jnewt427 what were you thinking. Do you know that the new pentium exterme edition is costing. It costs about $1000. They are definitely getting desperate (pentium that is).
__________________
Walking in the dark
Meck is offline  
Old 02-12-2004, 06:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I'M AMD ALL THE WAY!!!!!
I started computing with an AMD, I will die computing with an AMD.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

« Static!! | Help!! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.