amd problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2004, 04:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13
Default amd problems

Ive seen what seems like alot of comments about amd's. I have two of them, older, one keeps rebooting and the other wont power up anymore and now neither will power up. I am now wondering if amd made a good computer.
__________________

irbigbird is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Default

amd makes some really good products...the only processor that i have ever used has been amd...but when it comes to comuters i would just go ahead and build myself one from scratch cause then you know whats in it...and also a good thing is that more stuff will be compatible with it which is a plus in the computer world...but stick with amd processors they are the best you can use
__________________

ELLEMUS is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 05:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I would like to point out that AMD only made the processor. Theres a lot of other things that could be going wrong inside your computer. (ie. Hard drive failure, mobo going bad, power supply gone, corrupted files in the operating sys, virus...)

Also, processors are designed to function for approximately 20 years. although its hard to imagine having a computer that is 20 years old. Bottom line is that AMD does make a good product, if they didn't, they would be out of business.

BTW, What kind of processors are in your older computers?
(speed)
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 06:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

hmm rebooting? wun start up?

these 2 are probably the main factors:

1) ur PSU has probably worn out after main faithful years, but its time u chucked it out for a newer PSU
2) ur fans... its probably hot in there... hmm, go get some gd high spd fans with copper heat sink
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 06:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

in case u were wondering why ur AMD rebooted itself automatically and wudnt start up... its probably bcoz it overheated...

CPUs which overheat would shut off itself to prevent further damage, u can check out your shut off temp in ur Bios... , hmm the reason u cant start up is prob bcoz the CPU is still trying to cool itself down
cheerios is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.