AMD Phenom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2008, 02:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 172
Default AMD Phenom

what do you guys think of these, how do they stack up against Intels Quads?
what makes them so much less desirable?
__________________

Squirtis is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 03:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AMD Phenom

The Phenoms are less desirable because they are slower and aren't as good at overclocking as the Intel quads.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Phenom

The difference is exaggerated by a lot of people though
the 9850BE's will often get over 3GHZ, and in gaming the C2Q's don't always win.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD Phenom

Also, take into consideration that Q6600 consume less power than Phenom 9850BE and it is slightly cheaper

And if someone main purpose is to play games, then a fast dual core like E8400 and E8500 would be better than a quad core and cheaper

Furthermore, you can get E7200 for $120 from newegg and overclock it up to 4GHz
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 06:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Also, take into consideration that Q6600 consume less power than Phenom 9850BE and it is slightly cheaper
That's commonly exaggerated too.
AMD's CPU's include a memory controller. the memory controller on Intel systems is in the northbridge.
Also, Intel's TDP is what Intel considers "average" power draw, whereas AMD's TDP is calculated under full load.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
That's commonly exaggerated too.
No, it is not

Quote:
AMD's CPU's include a memory controller. the memory controller on Intel systems is in the northbridge.
I'm talking about the total system draw, not the power consumption of the CPU alone

So, the power consumption will include the northbridge here



Check these reviews
Legit Reviews - AMD Phenom X4 9850 Processor Review - B3 Stepping - Power Consumption and Final Thoughts
AMD's Phenom X4 9750 and 9850 processors - The Tech Report - Page 15

Actually, you will rarely see any review that compares the power consumption of the CPU alone anyway


Quote:
Also, Intel's TDP is what Intel considers "average" power draw, whereas AMD's TDP is calculated under full load.
Actually, most of the Core 2 Duo and Quad consume much less power that their rated TDP

Here is the power consumption of the CPU alone for some of the Core 2 Duo's

Source

E8500 has 65W TDP, but it only consume 33.4W at load

E6550 and E6850 are based on 65nm process, yet they also consume less power that their TDP at full load
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: AMD Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squirtis View Post
what do you guys think of these, how do they stack up against Intels Quads?
what makes them so much less desirable?
Alot of times they can't OC as far as intel quads, and can be more expensive. I wouldn't mind having a Phenom though.


"Awaits Apoks equally huge response to maroon's."
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 08:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: AMD Phenom

Apok is right in saying that the real world difference is not that large.....however the reason most people don't buy them is because they simply don't offer anything over Intel chips for enthusiasts...and for most overclockers Intel is the better option as hitting high frequencies is quite easy...
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 09:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
No, it is not
Uh, yes it is.
Quote:
I'm talking about the total system draw, not the power consumption of the CPU alone
I wasn't accusing you of stating otherwise.
Quote:
So, the power consumption will include the northbridge here

And as you can see, a similarly clocked Phenom isn't that much more power hungry than a Q6600

Quote:
Actually, most of the Core 2 Duo and Quad consume much less power that their rated TDP

Here is the power consumption of the CPU alone for some of the Core 2 Duo's

Source

E8500 has 65W TDP, but it only consume 33.4W at load

E6550 and E6850 are based on 65nm process, yet they also consume less power that their TDP at full load
I'm not sure how accurate that can really be.
Given the results of the first results you posted, it seems a bit inconsistent.

But there are many sources that will confirm what I said
AMD's TDP and ACP controversies - The real truth « Silicon Madness - Computer Technology news and reviews
intel amd tdp compare - Google Search

Intel's TDP is an average measurement, while AMD's TDP is a max measurement.

*edit*
bit-tech.net | Review - AMD Phenom X4 9850, 9750 and 9550
9750, which has the same clock speed, isn't consuming much more.

*edit*
Squirtis: there are reasons other than performance why some people (including myself) choose AMD. I personally don't like Intel as a company, and I especially don't want Intel to have a monopoly on the market. If AMD didn't exist, Intel could charge whatever they like and not have to actually advance their processors at a fast pace.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: AMD Phenom

actually my P5Q Deluxe has a power monitoring function called EPU something or other....I was curious and when I had my Q6600 at 1.3v and 2.8ghz it was only drawing 60-65w under 100% load (prime95)
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-19-2007 05:22 AM
AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 123 11-12-2007 02:03 AM
AMD Phenom, RD790 and RV670 to arrive same time in Q4 07 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2007 09:13 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.