AMD or the P4 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 09:11 PM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

They say the lowest you should go with an AMD CPU on doom 3 is the 2800+, atleast the last i heard...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:32 PM   #32 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

AMD all the way for me.
I get more bang for buck with AMD.
PLus I have a clearer upgrade path with AMD too as I more likely able to upgrade the processor with out having the change the MoBo too.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 02:34 AM   #33 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrBebop26
AMD does more work but at a slower pace.
Intel does less work faster.

I think you mean that the other way around....

-Ryan
How do I mean that the other way???????????
Is it because I am an Intel Fanboy???

Hell, I will admit it.

I AM AN INTEL FANBOY!!!!!!!!!!

But I accept the fact that AMD does perform better in games.
But I CAN'T stand people who think AMD's own in power apps and gaming. The world would be a better place without them.....
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 10:39 AM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

I think that once AMD gets more dual cores out with better cores in them, that they will eventually be just as good as intel at multitasking and get better at gaming.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:17 AM   #35 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
I think that once AMD gets more dual cores out with better cores in them, that they will eventually be just as good as intel at multitasking and get better at gaming.
Keyword. You think!
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:20 AM   #36 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

:-\ useless post there.... everyone THINKS :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:22 AM   #37 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Ok than, your one of those type of "people"

Yeah AMD is good at gaming. But a Pentium will smear AMD in most multitasking apps. You can't have the best of both worlds........
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:50 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

Dual core anything will be good, its just the fact that the P4 with HT uses a "image" second core, a fake but it works.

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 07:28 PM   #39 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

If you're really worried about the initial clock speed, then you can always overclock your AMD processor. Now, not only are you a fat man doing more work than the skinny fast guy who carries less bricks, but you are also running faster than you were before. My AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 (1.8 GHz) is overclocked to 2.6 GHz.

And you thought all fat men that carried bricks were slow...
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 09:08 PM   #40 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
How do I mean that the other way???????????
Is it because I am an Intel Fanboy???

Hell, I will admit it.

I AM AN INTEL FANBOY!!!!!!!!!!

But I accept the fact that AMD does perform better in games.
But I CAN'T stand people who think AMD's own in power apps and gaming. The world would be a better place without them.....
Keyword missing: "(You think!)" the world would be a better place without them. In the meantime, you'll have to live with what AMD followers put up with before AMD managed to produce better processors: competition. It keeps the industry alive..or would you rather see such competition removed?

After all, the world would be better without them..with just Intel running the show..
__________________

Lud-vik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.