AMD or the P4 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2005, 09:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

AMD's are cheap for there power, You can pay $200 for an AMD chip and it will beat the crap out of a $800 Intel chip.

Oh and the 2800+, 3000+, repersents what they can compare to on intels at stock. So a 2800+ may run at 1.8ghz, it will perform the same as a 2.8ghz Intel if not better. And there are $1000+ AMD chips that perform like a 4.4Ghz Intel chip now i think.....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 01:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
AMD's are cheap for there power, You can pay $200 for an AMD chip and it will beat the crap out of a $800 Intel chip.

Oh and the 2800+, 3000+, repersents what they can compare to on intels at stock. So a 2800+ may run at 1.8ghz, it will perform the same as a 2.8ghz Intel if not better. And there are $1000+ AMD chips that perform like a 4.4Ghz Intel chip now i think.....
the AMD model ### have no relation to Intel CPU freqs.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

:-\ where the **** have you been? Last i heard the 2800+ means it works just as good as a 2.8Ghz Intel. And so on

2800+ = 2.8Ghz for intel
3000+ = 3.0Ghz for intel.....
and so on
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Wrong.

It has been said in many forums including this one. AMD does NOT assign those model numbers to corresponding intel CPUS.

Anyways my 2.8ghz benchmarks way better than a 2800+
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

See sig for the "BIG" thread on this topic
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

dont u guys get tired of comparing intel vs amd
contry is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default

so if im gaming i should go for amd...but if im just doing everyday stuff, surfin the web, watchin tv on comp, usin word, i should go with intel?
__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 05:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bronxblaza117
so if im gaming i should go for amd...but if im just doing everyday stuff, surfin the web, watchin tv on comp, usin word, i should go with intel?
Also video editing, CAD, 3-D animation. Intel!!!
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:23 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

"how do AMD's perform better with lower frequencies?"

you know what a bit, and a transistor is right?
a bit is a 1 or 0. a 0 if the amount of power is below X, and a 1 if it is above Y amount.
a transistor is a gate which generates an output depending on the 2 inputs (either a 1 or 0)
there are many different types of transistors.

every clock cycle pushes the data from one transistor to the next

a CPU has a set of 'pipelines' which is made of transistors.
AMD has designed their CPU's so that, to process a given instruction, it doesn't have to go through as many transistors to get the same output against, say a Pentium 4 3.2GHZ

even though the data travelling along the pipelines is slower in an Athlon, it doesn't have to go as far as in a Pentium 4
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:53 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

You mean to tell me that you could not think up of any other ways of explaining that??????????????

Basically here is what the AMD and Intel things comes down to.

AMD is a big strong fat guy.
Intel is the skinny fast one.

Lets say AMD and Intel had a brick carrying contest.

AMD picks up more bricks and walks slower
Intel picks up less bricks but walks faster.

AMD does more work but at a slower pace.
Intel does less work faster.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.