AMD Overclocking Thread. - Page 42 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2009, 04:34 PM   #411 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

^ have you tried lapping your heatsink/CPU yet? What are your load temps? Can you get away with running it @ 1.500 even? They mentioned something earlier about PCIE clocking that can help stability.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-13-2009, 05:01 PM   #412 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Also consider getting higher CFM fans and a better heatsink (If applicable).

I would also have fans on the RAM and NB for added stability.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 11:56 PM   #413 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
^ have you tried lapping your heatsink/CPU yet? What are your load temps? Can you get away with running it @ 1.500 even? They mentioned something earlier about PCIE clocking that can help stability.
Lapping? Meaning reapply my heatsink? I would need to by TX-3 then. I ran out of MX-2 . Idle is 45-47, load is 57-59. Running at a stable 3.6GHz right now. Hmm it has a 1.63v! Oops! Fixing that. I can probably get away from 1.5v. I will try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Also consider getting higher CFM fans and a better heatsink (If applicable).

I would also have fans on the RAM and NB for added stability.
u mean better fans? All i need is like a fan controller n a better heatsink should help but later on that. The RAM is totally fine. The heatsinks on the RAM is OCZ Reapers. They rock! Best heatsinks ever! The NB does get warm but idk how i can add a fan on it when the copper pipes n heatsink going from the NB, chipset, n SB is all connected.

EDIT:

im running IBTv2 and im stable at Standard settings. According to CPU-Z 1.51, im at 3.6GHz, core voltage 1.52v, Multiplier x 17.0, Bus Speed 212.0MHz, HT Link 1908.1MHz, n my RAM is 848
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 12:58 AM   #414 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
Lapping? Meaning reapply my heatsink?
No, lapping is using sandpaper to smooth it down.
It also helps if you use it on a nice flat piece of glass, and put water on the sandpaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
I would need to by TX-3 then. I ran out of MX-2 . Idle is 45-47, load is 57-59. Running at a stable 3.6GHz right now. Hmm it has a 1.63v! Oops! Fixing that. I can probably get away from 1.5v. I will try.
Yeah, you really shouldn't need 1.6V to run it at 3.6
Most Phenom II's can get 3.6 at about 1.35-1.4V
If yours is having trouble being stable, then I'd suspect your boards power regulation isn't working like it should.
Quote:
u mean better fans? All i need is like a fan controller n a better heatsink should help but later on that. The RAM is totally fine. The heatsinks on the RAM is OCZ Reapers. They rock! Best heatsinks ever! The NB does get warm but idk how i can add a fan on it when the copper pipes n heatsink going from the NB, chipset, n SB is all connected.
You can remove the badges from the heatsinks, which don't do anything.

What I did with my K9A2 Platinum is put a bigger heatsink on the MOSFET's (and used a little bit of arctic silver 5). But after a while the board just stoped working.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 07:50 PM   #415 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
No, lapping is using sandpaper to smooth it down.
It also helps if you use it on a nice flat piece of glass, and put water on the sandpaper.
ur gonna have to show me pics about how to do this mate :P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Yeah, you really shouldn't need 1.6V to run it at 3.6
Most Phenom II's can get 3.6 at about 1.35-1.4V
If yours is having trouble being stable, then I'd suspect your boards power regulation isn't working like it should.
You can remove the badges from the heatsinks, which don't do anything.
maybe. Should i call MSI n ask them about it? I sent in my mobo twice n got it back twice. How can i change the power regulation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
What I did with my K9A2 Platinum is put a bigger heatsink on the MOSFET's (and used a little bit of arctic silver 5). But after a while the board just stoped working.
Lol that sucks. How much voltage should i put into the NB without damaging it?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:04 PM   #416 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Lapping is pretty easy.

All you really need is something completely flat, like glass and various pieces of sand paper.
Starting at 1000 grit, to 1500 grit, to 2000 grit and ending with micron or any grit higher than 2k.

heres an example of a guide:

Guide to Lapping an Intel LGA 775 Processor - Overclock3D Forums

its pretty straight forward.

Can sand the heatsink base a bit too.

I lapped my Q6600 and heatsink base and got temps 4C lower.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:33 PM   #417 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Also check out what info Slaymate has given in a couple threads recently:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
lapping your heatsink is easy, just time consuming. The procedure is the same whatever heatsink you use
">" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350">

Here's a 2-part video on lapping your cpu. It's easy to do, you just have to be delicate
">" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350">

">" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350">
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:34 PM   #418 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
ur gonna have to show me pics about how to do this mate :P.
It's not complicated.
Put sandpaper on glass, put a bit of water on it, start sanding the CPU's IHS on it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
maybe. Should i call MSI n ask them about it? I sent in my mobo twice n got it back twice. How can i change the power regulation?
Basically, buy a board with better power regulation.
Asus and Gigabyte have some boards with ~10 chokes. I'm using a MA790X-UD4P ATM.
Quote:
Lol that sucks. How much voltage should i put into the NB without damaging it?
Usually I don't even touch the NB voltage. If anything I'd just give it up to about +0.1V
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 12:59 AM   #419 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
It's not complicated.
Put sandpaper on glass, put a bit of water on it, start sanding the CPU's IHS on it.
i'll think about it when i get my hands on TX-3 or something. I do have TX-1 from my heatsink package but i dont want to use that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Basically, buy a board with better power regulation.
Asus and Gigabyte have some boards with ~10 chokes. I'm using a MA790X-UD4P ATM.
what do u mean by chokes? I cant buy a new mobo yet. I dont have the money, i dont have a job anymore, and me buying a new mobo right now would hurt my rep because of numberous reasons i cannot explain here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Usually I don't even touch the NB voltage. If anything I'd just give it up to about +0.1V
seriously? What is the point of having the NB voltage as an option in BIOS then?

EDIT:

my fan controller is broken from my heatsink, so i need to send it in try getting a new one anyways. Does it void warranty on the heatsink too?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 01:57 AM   #420 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
what do u mean by chokes?
Chokes are the largish square things next to the CPU.
The K9A2 Platinum has 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
I cant buy a new mobo yet. I dont have the money, i dont have a job anymore, and me buying a new mobo right now would hurt my rep because of numberous reasons i cannot explain here.
Well that's basically your best option, unless you want to try soldering higher quality MOSFET's/chokes in place of the ones it has (I don't know of anybody whose bothered to do that when there are motherboards with very good power regulation to begin with)

Otherwise, if you keep using your K9A2 Platinum, you might just end up limited in how far you can push things.
I suppose the power regulation isn't bad. But it isn't particularly good either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
seriously? What is the point of having the NB voltage as an option in BIOS then?
to increase NB stability if you try increasing NB speed.
Most of the time, increasing NB speed will hardly do anything. (I normally have my NB at stock (2GHZ) unless doing a benchmark which benifits from it)
There are a few programs that will benefit, like Superpi - which is heavily cache dependent (L3 cache runs at NB speed)

I haven't really experimented much with NB volts vs speed vs stability, but at >2.7GHZ NB speed I just use +0.15V or so

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
my fan controller is broken from my heatsink, so i need to send it in try getting a new one anyways. Does it void warranty on the heatsink too?
Did the fan controller come with the heatsink?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Demonstrates Twelve-Core Microprocessors Trotter New Technology and Products 11 05-06-2009 12:24 PM
Intel to terminate AMD x86 license?! Da Viksta New Technology and Products 85 04-01-2009 03:02 PM
AMD to demo GPU physics at GDC next week thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 11 03-21-2009 11:53 PM
*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** gurusan New Technology and Products 40 01-13-2009 03:26 AM
Official Peter.Cort Overclocking Thread!!! (56K Beware) Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 176 11-25-2008 06:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.