AMD Overclocking Thread. - Page 40 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2009, 12:24 PM   #391 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Anyone else see an increase in stability with an upped PCI-E bus clock? I couldn't boot comfortably past 2.9, and now I can boot past 3.1 and be stable, after upping it from 100mhz to 110mhz.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 02:05 PM   #392 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

I've heard about the PCI-E bus clock trick, it never seemed to work for me. I found out last night I could probably run 3.8ghz 24/7 without too much of a problem, though.

Don't be afraid to push voltage, I know James and I have an overvoltage option. The highest I've pushed was 1.65v total, but it doesn't really help. Sweet spot is 1.55+.062v...so basically 1.612v before vdroop (which I think pulls it down to 1.584 or so). But with that voltage, I boot almost 4.1 after a couple tries. Just don't go crazy with the voltage.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 02:38 PM   #393 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Yeah I don't touch the overvolt, I'm just not knowledgeable enough in the department. I listened to the wrong person on this forum once before about volts and that's how I ended my last cpu and mobo, so I stay away from pushing too much voltage lol.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 04:44 PM   #394 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

I have over voltage options, +50mv and +100mv. I tried both, of course +100 seemed to be more stable, but none more than just upping the PCI-E clock, and leaving everything else alone. I first heard about the PCI-E clock making overclocking easier, when I was overclocking my netbook. If I don't up the PCI-E clock, I can't touch anything without instant headaches.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:02 PM   #395 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i cant get a stable 3.7GHz anymore. My mobo is probably messed up. I still get the 0x0000124 error but only when i OC to 3.6-3.7. Still trying to work things out though.
I stepped my RAM timings down to 6-6-6-18 and that seemed to help.. along with upping the CPU NB ID V to 1.35... Try that..

What USED to work for your system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
what is ur voltage? Mine is 1.54v. I'm right now 3.6GHz.
?!?! 1.54v?! Jeebus! I've always read that 1.5v runs are suicide: In, see if it boots, grab a screen shot then GTH out of there!

And do0d, I can get 3.6g to boot @ 1.375VCore.. You don't need it that high for that under 40% clock..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:07 PM   #396 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

people with a Phenom II 940: you should head over to the linpack benchmark thread and post some scores with your overclocks
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-09-2009, 07:09 PM   #397 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default

^ Yeah you and your Vette... Benchmark THAT! LOL...

I'll take a suicide run to 1.5v in a min here.. I'd never had 3.8g to boot for me before, so I got a screen shot and got out of there before it BSOD'd on me..


Stupid question: What's the CPU NB VID?? Not the NB Voltage, this is a different option. North bridge, I gather but what exactly is it that I am overvolting? It seemed to have helped..

__________________________________________________ _______________

Processor: PII 940
Stepping: 2
Revision: RB-C2
VID:
Final Clock: 3.808g
Final Vcore: 1.504

Power supply:
MotherBoard: GA MA 790GP DS4H
RAM: 4g OCZ Reaper 1066
Timmings: 7-6-6-18
RAM to FSB:
Final RAM Voltage: 2.100

Stress testing program:
Hour of Stability:
Max Load Tempartur2:
Reason for Stress Test End:

Heatsink: D-Tek Fusion
Thermal Paste: AS-5
Lapped Heatsink: yes
Lapped Processor: yes

Core temp AND CPUZ Screen Shot:



Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
I've heard about the PCI-E bus clock trick, it never seemed to work for me. I found out last night I could probably run 3.8ghz 24/7 without too much of a problem, though.

Don't be afraid to push voltage, I know James and I have an overvoltage option. The highest I've pushed was 1.65v total, but it doesn't really help. Sweet spot is 1.55+.062v...so basically 1.612v before vdroop (which I think pulls it down to 1.584 or so). But with that voltage, I boot almost 4.1 after a couple tries. Just don't go crazy with the voltage.
Really... I'll try that next time I'm feelin froggy.. But again, I am running Vista Ult 64b, so I guess I can't ask for too much. But I got 3.8g stable enough to work with. What's the CPU NB VID?? I set those the same as the NB Voltage. 1.400 or 1.425. Also What's the HT Freq (IIRC)?? 8bit or 16 bit?? Also.... I have an option for Advanced Clock Calibration.. I haven't messed with it, but all 4 cores are set to -2%... Is that ok? Or can I up it to -1% or even 0??

I couldn't get 3.9g to boot.. here were my rough settings.. See what you guys think.

Mult @ 19.5
VCORE 1.500 or 1.525 (tried both)
FSB @ 200

HT LINK @ 800 (it doesn't seem to like it when I mess w the FSB on higher clocks)
NB @ 13x
NB V @ 1.4 or 1.425

RAM @ 2.1v @ 7-6-6-18
RAM clock @ 800mhz @ 4.00
SB @ +.1v


I know I'm forgetting something..
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 01:13 AM   #398 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
I stepped my RAM timings down to 6-6-6-18 and that seemed to help.. along with upping the CPU NB ID V to 1.35... Try that..

What USED to work for your system?


?!?! 1.54v?! Jeebus! I've always read that 1.5v runs are suicide: In, see if it boots, grab a screen shot then GTH out of there!

And do0d, I can get 3.6g to boot @ 1.375VCore.. You don't need it that high for that under 40% clock..


^^^my current settings.

my NB use to be 218, Multipler x17.

Currently right now. I can run 3.7GHz, but im not 100% stable. Idk yet if i am with 3.6GHz. At this point, me even upgrading to a Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme is perhaps not even worth it anymore. I can try going back to 1.5v n run IntelBurnTest v2 again but idk. Still trying.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 01:57 AM   #399 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Well, my C3 965 arrived today. Lapped it before putting it in.
It looks quite stable at 4GHZ with 1.5V, with all 4 cores stressed with Orthos.

And that was just a quick and dirty overclock.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-10-2009, 08:13 AM   #400 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

I've read that you have to up the HT link speed, but I've also heard that at higher clocks, you need a lower HT speed....???

Which one? I understand that if you up the CPU cycles, you have to up the other agencies around it. NB and HT.. But mine doesn't seem to like higher HT's.. 800 seems to be the sweet spot.
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Demonstrates Twelve-Core Microprocessors Trotter New Technology and Products 11 05-06-2009 12:24 PM
Intel to terminate AMD x86 license?! Da Viksta New Technology and Products 85 04-01-2009 03:02 PM
AMD to demo GPU physics at GDC next week thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 11 03-21-2009 11:53 PM
*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** gurusan New Technology and Products 40 01-13-2009 03:26 AM
Official Peter.Cort Overclocking Thread!!! (56K Beware) Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 176 11-25-2008 06:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.