AMD Overclocking Thread. - Page 23 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2008, 02:57 PM   #221 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i think 1.3 would be about as high as i would go. they dont really have the effect on stability that intels NB voltage does, though. do you have your HT bus underclocked? what HT multi are you using?
HT is 5x.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 03:03 PM   #222 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

what is your external clock speed (bus speed)? ie ___ x 5 for HT bus speed.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 03:30 PM   #223 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
what is your external clock speed (bus speed)? ie ___ x 5 for HT bus speed.
according to AMD OverDrive, the HT ref. Clock is 236MHz, is that what u mean?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 03:40 PM   #224 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

yes. okay that means you may be running your HT bus a little fast (236 x 5 = 1180, try to keep it at < 1000 or so for overclocking purposes) . try dropping the ht multi to 4 and see if that has a positive result.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 04:56 PM   #225 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
yes. okay that means you may be running your HT bus a little fast (236 x 5 = 1180, try to keep it at < 1000 or so for overclocking purposes) . try dropping the ht multi to 4 and see if that has a positive result.
lol isnt that the point of having my CPU run faster?

EDIT:

oh to be more stable at higher levels. I'll mess with it a bit later, i got math homework to do.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 05:11 PM   #226 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

yeah your cpu will still run faster, but it lowers the bandwidth availible for your memory controller, but its no big deal because it doesnt use that much in the first place.
good luck with math. its saturday, dude...i commend your dedication.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 05:43 PM   #227 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

^^Ntune is only recommended for overlooking graphics cards. The best and recommended way to overclock cpu's is through BIOS. I also recommend running 8 hours of orthos or prime 95 to determine if your cpu is stable.

techPowerUp! :: Download Orthos Stress Prime 2004
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:28 PM   #228 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greeenday77 View Post



ill buy ur card dood(ur sig card lol)

PM me for the details.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:29 PM   #229 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Either that or the Intel burn in app. 7 hours of orthos made me think my cpu was stable, but then I ran Intel burn in and it failed. It's a lot faster and much more comprehensive. Instead of running a bunch of Lucas-Lehmer equations it runs the Linpack test suite (the thing they use to calculate the speed of super computers).
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 08:49 PM   #230 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greeenday77 View Post
Hey, I'm new but uh... I don't know what the heck half of those mean but heres what I know

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ 2.1GHz Dual-Core Processor
Stepping:unknown
Revision:unknown
VID: wtf???
Final Clock: 2.4GHz
Final Vcore:default

Power supply: 350 watt
MotherBoard: MSI K9N Neo-F V3
RAM: 2 GB supertalent @ 900MHz
Timmings:???
RAM to FSB:???
Final RAM Voltage:default

Stress testing program:NTUNE
Hour of Stability: wat?
Max Load Temparture:100F
Reason for Stress Test End: bored with doing nothing

Heatsink:AMD stock fan
Thermal Paste:Stock
Lapped Heatsink:Stock
Lapped Processor:Stock

Core temp AND CPUZ Screen Shot:



ill buy ur card dood(ur sig card lol)



If you have an nvidia card (which ur sig says otherwise) you can use ntune to get like 1GHz higher sumtimes (I got my 2.1 GHZ to 3GHz once)
You have to use some short of rules to see if the settings are stable.

Whether that be prime 95 or orthos or OCCT or just gamming, it has to be at least a few hours.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Demonstrates Twelve-Core Microprocessors Trotter New Technology and Products 11 05-06-2009 12:24 PM
Intel to terminate AMD x86 license?! Da Viksta New Technology and Products 85 04-01-2009 03:02 PM
AMD to demo GPU physics at GDC next week thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 11 03-21-2009 11:53 PM
*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** gurusan New Technology and Products 40 01-13-2009 03:26 AM
Official Peter.Cort Overclocking Thread!!! (56K Beware) Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 176 11-25-2008 06:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.