AMD Overclocking Thread. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2007, 10:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
i think it should be like 3dmark thread
but that would take up pages galore i suppose
We already have a 3Dmark06 thread...
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

i think he's saying like the 3dmark thread, where everybody is posted on teh OP
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Maybe, Once more people post..
Ste is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

do i have to OC the shizzan out of my 5000+ when i get it? I dont want to lessen its lifespan when im planning on selling it to a friend later during March for his build.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Shortened life span?

Yea instead of lasting 15 years it may only last 8-10 years, OH NO!!!!
Ste is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 12:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

lol ya don't worry about lifespan
even with phase they last 5+ years i hear
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Ya, I think we should have it setup like the 3dmark thread. With a ranking in the first post.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
Ya, I think we should have it setup like the 3dmark thread. With a ranking in the first post.
Once more people post...
Ste is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

also hmammen and peter ya'll need to update your memory ratios...both listed as 1:1
hmmamen yours is cpu/11 (or 2450/224).
pete yours i am assuming here that you have it set to ddr2 800 still therefore have a cpu/7 (or 2900/414).
you would need a reference clock of 224 (hmammen) and 414 (peter) to be running a 1:1 ratio. but that would make the ram speed different if you were running a higher clock speed, so i use that only as an example (ie the bus speeds and ram speeds dont match up, hence no 1:1).
if you were running a ref clock of 200mhz(stock) and dropped your ddr2 ram to ddr2 400 speed in bios and left it at that, then you would be at 1:1 ratio.
which would really be a cpu/10 ratio. are we all thoroughly corn-fused yet? lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Processor: X2 3800 Toledo (939)
Stepping: 2
Revision: JH-E6

Final Clock: 3.1GHZ
Final Vcore: 1.6V

Power supply: Coolmax 450W
MotherBoard: Abit KN8-SLI
RAM: Geil ddr400
Timmings: 3.0-5-5-8
RAM to FSB: 155mhz to 310mhz
Final RAM Voltage: 2.2v



Max Load Temparture: 13* C


Heatsink: Zalman CNPS 9500
Thermal Paste: AS5

__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Demonstrates Twelve-Core Microprocessors Trotter New Technology and Products 11 05-06-2009 12:24 PM
Intel to terminate AMD x86 license?! Da Viksta New Technology and Products 85 04-01-2009 03:02 PM
AMD to demo GPU physics at GDC next week thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 11 03-21-2009 11:53 PM
*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** gurusan New Technology and Products 40 01-13-2009 03:26 AM
Official Peter.Cort Overclocking Thread!!! (56K Beware) Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 176 11-25-2008 06:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.