AMD Overclocking Thread. - Page 19 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2008, 03:07 PM   #181 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

ya that temperature is not bad at all, are you on stock heatsink?
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:10 PM   #182 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Im using the stock heatsink on my 4000+ right now. I have a very precise, thin layer of arctic silver 5. At 3.04ghz. I run 27c +/- depending on room temp, and about 55c or 56c at load.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:34 PM   #183 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Yep, I've got the stock fan and everything. My case is pretty efficient I'd say, it's got a vent thing that goes onto the cpu, and another vent type thing on the side of the clear case. I might be man enough to try 2.5ghz, thought I'd probably really scared at first haha.
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 03:10 AM   #184 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Anyone know what I should do? lol
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 04:44 PM   #185 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Go to 2.5ghz. It will be very easy I assume from my experiance with the 4000+. Up your front side bus up to 240 from the 200 stock, and you will be at 2.5ghz. I can almost gurantee you that you wont need to change the voltage, unless you fail a stress test. A good stress testing program is Orthos Prime. Search it on google, and download it. All you do is start the test, and use another program such as speedfan or core temp to monitor your tempuratures. As long as your core temps dont exceed about 40c and your overall temp in speedfan doesnt exceed 60c, your good. Also, download cpu-z so you can monitor all aspects of your cpu speeds and voltages, ram speeds and what not.

Once you learn the basics of HOW to overclock, its basically all learning your hardware through trial and error, and learning how adjusting one thing in your setup effects your system stability and speed.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 05:27 PM   #186 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

I've got CPU-Z and Nvidia monitor to monitor all my temperatures, I just need to know how to adjust my FSB lol. Also, I sent albert an email from tigerdirect, and he said that in order for the 9800gtx+ (video card I'm getting) to not bottleneck would be to get the amd x2 3.2ghz or a phenom. that seems overkill do i really need that much?
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:48 PM   #187 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

My 4000+ is bottlenecking my 8800gs, So yes, the x2 3.2ghz would still bottleneck it, youll need a phenom x4 quad core. Is your motherboard AM2+? If not youll need a new motherboard cuz phenoms need am2+ motherboards. And, if thats the case, buy a intel q6600 quad core and an intel motherboard, and that will beat the pants off AMD.

To up your front side bus, when your computer is starting hit delete at your first boot up screen, which should show your IDE and SATA channels and what not. It should say hit DEL to enter setup somewhere on it.
__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:51 PM   #188 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

M2N-e is AM2, I think it can be BIOS flashed for AM2+ Support, but thats not always guaranteed to work
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:51 PM   #189 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Wow, nah my board is the Asus M2N-E sli, so its only am2. that totally sucks. I assume it doesn't bottleneck it too bad if you got it to what? 2.8 or something? that's pretty fast. I've always thought quad core was just overkill.

What is BIOS flashed for am2+ support? lol I know a good amount about ram and some video cards, this whole BIOS thing I'm new to. I guess that's why I joined this forum!
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 07:56 PM   #190 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
spikoman69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 726
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Well, once you get your new video card and learn to overclock, here is what i recommend. Buy the new Athlon X2 5600+ Black edition, and Overclock it to 3.3-3.4, that will be the cheapest way to get the most out of a 9800gtx. Otherwise, If you decide to spend more money, definately pick up an intel quad or a fast core 2 duo.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II 960t BE @ 4.3ghz // Corsair Vengence 4x2Gb 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 460 @ 840mhz Core 1960mhz Memory// ASRock 970 Extreme AM3+
NZXT M59 Case Black and Blue Scheme // Corsair H80
University of Michigan // Electrical and Computer Engineering
spikoman69 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Demonstrates Twelve-Core Microprocessors Trotter New Technology and Products 11 05-06-2009 12:24 PM
Intel to terminate AMD x86 license?! Da Viksta New Technology and Products 85 04-01-2009 03:02 PM
AMD to demo GPU physics at GDC next week thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 11 03-21-2009 11:53 PM
*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** gurusan New Technology and Products 40 01-13-2009 03:26 AM
Official Peter.Cort Overclocking Thread!!! (56K Beware) Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 176 11-25-2008 06:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.