AMD Overclocking Thread. - Page 16 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2008, 10:23 PM   #151 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

its not that you can't get higher, but the board is picky w/ certain settings

i had a 680i that did 1300 fsb.. but wouldnt do anything 1300+ all the way up to 1500... it would do 1500 just fine though..

weird stuff
__________________

NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:59 PM   #152 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

ya i know ive had it at 3.6 but i wanted a 3.4 24/7 oc
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:02 PM   #153 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

the A1 i have doesnt seem to have that problem, i can manage any fsb i want without problems

mgcook sold me a good one
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:04 PM   #154 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
the A1 i have doesnt seem to have that problem, i can manage any fsb i want without problems

mgcook sold me a good one
im jealous lol and i thought u sold ur 680i
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:07 PM   #155 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

i did.. but i can't figure out how to ship to canada (i tried, but i guess filled whatever i had for customs wrong)... and i'm not a man of much time.. sadly i had to pay him back

just about all the times i post on tech forums, are either really late at night.... or while i'm at work
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:32 PM   #156 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

ic so u gonna use it or get a 7xx board once u get you quad fx sold?
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 02:26 AM   #157 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Stepping: CCB8F 0714UPMW
Revision: F3 Windsor
VID: 1.4V
Final Clock: 3510MHZ
Final Vcore: 1.688V

Power supply: Hiper Type-R 580W
MotherBoard: MSI K9A2 Platinum
RAM: 4 x 1GB Apacer DDR2-800
Timings: 4-4-4-12
RAM to HTT: 2:1
Final RAM Voltage: 2.3V

Stress testing program: none
Hour of Stability: a few minutes
Max Load Temparture: unknown
Reason for Stress Test End: froze

Heatsink: Swiftech Apogee GT + MCP655 + Thermochill PA120.3
Thermal Paste: Arctic Silver 5
Lapped Heatsink: yes
Lapped Processor: no

Core temp AND CPUZ Screen Shot:
http://apokalipse.googlepages.com/3510.PNG
validated

Voltage Information Picture:
http://apokalipse.googlepages.com/35..._overdrive.PNG
Just curious if it's valid to list this. It is CPU-Z verified and has a screenshot with Core Temp.

Anyway, I may be buying Dainius's Phenom 9850 BE (got 3GHZ on air, on a non-ideal board)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 07:08 AM   #158 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Do it, and you're water cooler is pretty sweet... you can probably do 3.5ghz on it... it'd be great to actually see a Phenom 9850 on 3dmark06 score list
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 07:37 AM   #159 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Do it, and you're water cooler is pretty sweet... you can probably do 3.5ghz on it... it'd be great to actually see a Phenom 9850 on 3dmark06 score list
I'm not sure if it'd get 3.5, but I could actually show people that the Phenom is a good CPU.

at ~2.8GHZ, I'd say it'd be roughly as fast per core as my 6000+ is at 3.4GHZ

Anyway, why don't you just get a 780G board or something so you can use the CPU and RAM I sent you?
the 780G boards also have PCI-E, so you could upgrade to a better card (or even use hybrid crossfire)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-09-2008, 07:51 AM   #160 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

Actually thats my plan, I just have to wait until my AP Exam (next Thursday, which I'm going to fail and not get college credit D: )
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Demonstrates Twelve-Core Microprocessors Trotter New Technology and Products 11 05-06-2009 12:24 PM
Intel to terminate AMD x86 license?! Da Viksta New Technology and Products 85 04-01-2009 03:02 PM
AMD to demo GPU physics at GDC next week thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 11 03-21-2009 11:53 PM
*** Official Phenom 2 Review Thread *** gurusan New Technology and Products 40 01-13-2009 03:26 AM
Official Peter.Cort Overclocking Thread!!! (56K Beware) Peter.Cort Overclocking and Modding 176 11-25-2008 06:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.