AMD Overclocking Thread.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Official AMD Overclocking Thread.

This was the highest OC I could get without a BSOD as soon as I got past the XP loading screen:

oc2.jpg

is there a site or thread that can walk me thru OCing?? I'm a complete NEWB to it and a lot of the references here are almost Greek to me..

I wanna bring my QC up to 3.5 g or so..

is there a site or thread that can walk me thru OCing?? I'm a complete NEWB to it and a lot of the references here are almost Greek to me..

I wanna bring my QC up to 3.5 g or so..

this is the only O/C guide i remember seeing on here.
http://www.techist.com/forums/f10/overclocking-basics-temperature-guide-20319/

as for hitting 3.5Ghz...that is going to be pretty tough if it's the 9950 in your sig (but not impossible). the ACC on your board should help out but 3.2-3.3Ghz should be not all that hard to hit once you get used to overclocking. then when you become 'seasoned' 3.6Ghz is not unheard of.

basically:
1. fine your max cpu on stock voltage by upping the multiplier 1x at a time - 13x is stock i believe [200*13=2600mhz] so put it to 14x and reboot to windows. if it loads, increase to 15x and so on until you blue screen.
2. once you start to blue screen, it means you need more voltage. so increase it by +.025v. stock voltage is around the 1.30v give or take .015v due to "v-droop", so this would increase it to roughly 1.325v. reboot (still using that max multiplier you found). if your O/S loads your voltage is fine. if not, increase it by another +.025v.

basically overclocking is trial and error. i'm not 100% sure on phenom max voltage but i'd suggest not going above 1.425v on air...maybe even 1.4v...until your more comfortable.3

This was the highest OC I could get without a BSOD as soon as I got past the XP loading screen:

oc2.jpg

nice!
didn't realize it was NewCastle either.
are you running the stock cooler?