AMD OC and Heatsink - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2004, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default AMD OC and Heatsink

Hey guys, right now I have a few AMD XP 2600+'s and I wanted to know how high I could safely overclock them with a good heatsink. I don't know what kind of heatsink but I'm hoping you have some good input.

I really don't want anything too expensive, and i REALLY do NOT want a heatsink with a fan controller attached to a bay. It is just a pain.

Thanks for any help you can provide.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

with barton core? there is virtually no top limit. on any card. but id say to not go over 2.4 ghz.. with damn fine cooling. this is just my opinion and im sure others will give different figures, im just trying to give you a ballpark figure.
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-08-2004, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

I have no idea if it is barton or not, I do not see indication if it is on the Control Panel>System location, it simply states AMD XP 2600+ 1.92ghz.


EDIT::: According to Sandra, I have 512 L2 cache, so i think that is indication of barton core.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

try this will give you linfo on your cpu http://www.cpuid.com/
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

So any suggestions on what kind of heartisnk and how high I can go?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 11-09-2004, 06:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The Cache isn't what gives away whether it's a barton core or not...it simply depends on the manufacturers whim really and it just so happens they decided to make the 2500+ XP and 2600+ XP from the same core as the 3200+ XP, besides that the program CPU-Z will tell you what core it is.

It really depends on how good your cooling is man. How low your temps are things such as that. Also you gotta consider things like how well your RAM will take it and also if you don't have an AGP:PCI Bus lock then you won't be able to up the CPU FSB otherwise once you go too far you'll fry your AGP and PCI Components so be weary of that. Other than that, whatever speed you can get it stable at while remaining in 40's Celsius in temperature with a full load temp of low 50's I'd say you're in the clear....

the 35w mobiles have insane Overclockability though, more so than the 2600+ XP, I have the 35w 2400+ XP-M unlike the 2400+ XP this has 512mb L2 Cache, and runs at half the wattage...I got mine overclocked to 2.7GHz prime95 stable for 12+ hours, but I've since backed it down to 2.5GHz just for cooler temps and a lower Vcore...

All in all you should ATLEAST be able to hit 3200+ XP speeds with good cooling, but like I said without an AGP:PCI bus lock you can't up the FSB without frying components...only way to OC would be to raise the Multiplier.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 06:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
The Cache isn't what gives away whether it's a barton core or not...it simply depends on the manufacturers whim really and it just so happens they decided to make the 2500+ XP and 2600+ XP from the same core as the 3200+ XP, besides that the program CPU-Z will tell you what core it is.

It really depends on how good your cooling is man. How low your temps are things such as that. Also you gotta consider things like how well your RAM will take it and also if you don't have an AGP:PCI Bus lock then you won't be able to up the CPU FSB otherwise once you go too far you'll fry your AGP and PCI Components so be weary of that. Other than that, whatever speed you can get it stable at while remaining in 40's Celsius in temperature with a full load temp of low 50's I'd say you're in the clear....

the 35w mobiles have insane Overclockability though, more so than the 2600+ XP, I have the 35w 2400+ XP-M unlike the 2400+ XP this has 512mb L2 Cache, and runs at half the wattage...I got mine overclocked to 2.7GHz prime95 stable for 12+ hours, but I've since backed it down to 2.5GHz just for cooler temps and a lower Vcore...

All in all you should ATLEAST be able to hit 3200+ XP speeds with good cooling, but like I said without an AGP:PCI bus lock you can't up the FSB without frying components...only way to OC would be to raise the Multiplier.

Actually, the 2400 XP Barton DOES have a 512mb L2 cache. And it's very comparable to the XP-M 2400...

But didn't AMD stop selling the 2400 XP Barton?
Quinton McLeod is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 01:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

i tried to find a link to a 2400+ barton core but i couldnt find one. the main point however being that an XP-m 2400 plus has massive overclocking potential as compared to a 2400+
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 07:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Actually, the 2400 XP Barton DOES have a 512mb L2 cache. And it's very comparable to the XP-M 2400...

But didn't AMD stop selling the 2400 XP Barton?
I've got both the 35w 2400+ XP-M and the 2400+ XP, my 2400+ XP is a T-bred not barton so therefore the info I gave him WAS correct. I haven't come across a barton based 2400+ XP so if you have a link to show us that'd be nice, because I can't find anything about a barton core 2400+ XP in google at the moment. I did find a somewhat interesting article regarding the release of the barton core and how it was reveared because it did have 512mb cache and that's what people were waiting for at the time. During this time the article clearly states that the 2400+ wasn't barton at the time they had reviewed it, so like I said, get us a link, because I haven't ever even heard of the 2400+ XP Barton core, but I also hadn't heard that they had T-bred 2600's either and those exist, although ****tier
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 07:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Correction, according to SANDRA It is a AMD XP 2600+ Barton Core with 512K Cache

Now, I just looked in the bios the other day as I was poundering what to do, and notice that my CPU temp is up in the 50-52 range right after boot up. I don't think this is a good thing, but I may be too worried. Since I plan on getting a better heatsink for it I figured for now it is ok.

Also, in my bios the only thing I have found access too is the frequency (133). I cannot find the multiplier.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.