AMD...Newcastle or Winchester - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 02:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

the winnie 3200 is good and hell you might save money in the long tern due to power bills (yea i know it would take like 50 years). the 3200 oc's well and i can get 2.6 with stock cooling but i need a bios hack to get it further. it runs quite cool as well wich is a bonus. the reviews a have seen have had it a but slower than the 754 3200 newcastle due to the slower clock speed but hell it oc's better and that makes up for it
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default

I still don't now which one to get! I know I want a Winne but do I get the 3200 or the 3500. I know that the 3200 would be great for the kind of things I do but I have this speed fetish and a credit card which don't go well together, if you know what I mean.
Since I started this thread I have come up with another question; which motherboard to get? I know I will need a socket 939 and I want dual lan and onboard audio (I have 5.1 Klipsch). I'm not really up on all the latest gadgets and improvements such as raid, sata, PC-e, SLI and all the other things that have to be considered when purchasing a MOBO. I plan on using IDE Hdd's and a PC-e graphics card and dual channel ram. I don't play alot of video intensive games so I'm thinking 6200 or 6600...any suggestions?
__________________

Eddie Haskell is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 10:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

if youwant to overclock alot get the 3200+ if you want to overclock a little, get the 3500+
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 10:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

i dont think anyone said that you cant have dual channel ram with the newcastle ......
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 10:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default

You can't, thats good to know. What about this MOBO?
GIGABYTE "GA-K8N Ultra-9" NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra Chipset
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE
I've had great luck with my existing Gigabyte so I'm leaning toward staying with them, but all opinions are welcome.
Like I could keep you folks quiet
Eddie Haskell is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default Or this one

MSI "K8N Neo4 Platinum, I've read good things about this one http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...130-484&depa=0
Eddie Haskell is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

What did you say about dual channel RAM with newcastles? I suggest the MSI K8N Neo4 P over the gigabyte anyday. But if you want to OC, i wouldent get either. For OC purposes, Abit and DFI would kill.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default

I have never OC'd in the past but may in the future to a certain extent. I plan on using stock cooling and I'm not going to push it. I have a 1.2 AMD "Thunderbird" now and If what I read is true just having this new stuff should dazzle me with its speed.
Eddie Haskell is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If your not overclocking get a newcastle cuz their slightly cheaper.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Thats a good way to put it. Winchesters wont make a differience if your not going to OC. I think people are just buying them because its the new core.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.