AMD...Newcastle or Winchester - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2005, 09:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default AMD...Newcastle or Winchester

I plan on buying an AMD CPU (either the 64 3200 or 3500) and the only difference I see in these aside from the Core name is the process: 0.13 Micron VS 90Nm. I don't really know what these mean but have read where the W process is superior to the N process.
Can someone shed some light on this
__________________

Eddie Haskell is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 10:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

The winchester has a smaller core size than the newcastle. so it uses less voltage and it runs cooler.. cooler=better
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 10:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 30
Default

That is really the only difference? One of these isn't better for multi tasking, gaming, photo editing or anything that dramatic?
The Winchester simply runs cooler, which is a GOOD thing and makes it a better choice...Thank you very much
Eddie Haskell is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 10:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

the winchester is better. basically they are the same core in everyway including cache size and speed i think, BUT becuase the winchester is only 90nm it uses less voltage therefore stays cooler i think its in the region of 5-10C difference which is a big advantage when overclocking, so the winchesters will go faster than the newcastles, but they are both great cores, if ur not goin to overclock get teh newcastle but if u are the the winchester is the only way to go.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 10:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The newcastle is just slightly faster that you wont notice it. Better to get a whinchester though, a .05% peformance decrease vs a chip that will overclock nice.

Mind ya, my newcastle is 2.66GHZ and most people can barely get whinchesters to 2.6
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 12:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ive never heard the newcasltes were faster where have u seen that? agreed the amount u can overclock varies from chip to chip but in general the winchesters do go further.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 01:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

both cores have an architecture limit. so both of them can go to the same speeds. the amount of cooling and voltage mods is what gets you to the barrier. since most people who overclock dont even know what a voltage mod is, most dont get to the architecture limit.

the winchester runs cooler. thats the bottom line. you can still overclock the newcastle to the same speeds, but its gunna require more cooling than the winchester at same voltage and fsb.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 04:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=54719

That guy supposedly has his 3000+ newcastle up to 2.9GHz on stock cooling. Gotta scroll down after a couple responses before he's actually posted links to pics.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=54961

That guy also has a 3000+ but has a winchester core, he's got 3GHz on air supposedly.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 11:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Personally, i would just get a Newcastle. They are cheaper, and if your not going to OC. Then it dont make a differience. Even then, its not that much of differience. Winchesters arent anything to get excited about. Im just waiting for the sledgehammers and clawhammers.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 01:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

I'm going with a winnie 3200+. Has the voltage advantage and overclocks very nicely even on stock cooling. 2.5GHz is enough for me, but like Nubius pointed out there are far better overclocks on air cooling as well.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.