amd hypertransport ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Default amd hypertransport ?

I just built a computer
AMD x2 3800
2 gig
512mb video card
120gb hdd

when I open up the task manager to show the cpu, it only shows 2 cpus, shouldnt it show 4 though since the processor has HTT?
__________________

Dmonik is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: amd hypertransport ?

Hello,

You're confusing Intel's 'Hyper-Threading Technology' (HTT) with 'HyperTransport' (HT).

Intel's Hyper-Threading (in a nutshell) is a technique which enables a single CPU to act like multiple CPU's.

HyperTransport is a point to point communication link which replaces the Front Side Bus.

It's normal that you're seeing two CPUs.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: amd hypertransport ?

actually, in AMD land, HTT stands for HyperTransport Technology as well.
your actual HTT bus speed of that cpu is 1000mhz, doubled to 2000mhz. data is sent on the upswing and downswing of the clock, so it is "double pumped" to an effective frequency of 2000mhz. it doesnt really have anything to do with the number of cores.
cpuz would show four if you had a quad-core (amd, i dont know about intel,but im sure its the same) cpu.
alvin is correct that it is normal for you to see 2 cores, since your cpu is a dual core.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: amd hypertransport ?

Hypertransport is basically putting most of the northbridge functions on the CPU itself, including the memory controller, giving the CPU direct access to almost anything in the system (most notably, the RAM)

As said, it is not the same as Hyperthreading (which is basically where one core pretends to be two)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is hyperthreading? krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 34 07-17-2007 04:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.