amd hypertransport ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2007, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Default amd hypertransport ?

I just built a computer
AMD x2 3800
2 gig
512mb video card
120gb hdd

when I open up the task manager to show the cpu, it only shows 2 cpus, shouldnt it show 4 though since the processor has HTT?

Dmonik is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re: amd hypertransport ?


You're confusing Intel's 'Hyper-Threading Technology' (HTT) with 'HyperTransport' (HT).

Intel's Hyper-Threading (in a nutshell) is a technique which enables a single CPU to act like multiple CPU's.

HyperTransport is a point to point communication link which replaces the Front Side Bus.

It's normal that you're seeing two CPUs.


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: amd hypertransport ?

actually, in AMD land, HTT stands for HyperTransport Technology as well.
your actual HTT bus speed of that cpu is 1000mhz, doubled to 2000mhz. data is sent on the upswing and downswing of the clock, so it is "double pumped" to an effective frequency of 2000mhz. it doesnt really have anything to do with the number of cores.
cpuz would show four if you had a quad-core (amd, i dont know about intel,but im sure its the same) cpu.
alvin is correct that it is normal for you to see 2 cores, since your cpu is a dual core.
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: amd hypertransport ?

Hypertransport is basically putting most of the northbridge functions on the CPU itself, including the memory controller, giving the CPU direct access to almost anything in the system (most notably, the RAM)

As said, it is not the same as Hyperthreading (which is basically where one core pretends to be two)
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is hyperthreading? krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 34 07-17-2007 03:59 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.