AMD Equivalent: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 01:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default AMD Equivalent:

Hi,

My brother bought this setup a few months ago with an additional memory stick and ATI Radeon 9800 Pro (128). Nowadays, it's probably not even middle ground, but it seems to run Warcraft, Battlefield (low-mid settings) just fine.

I'm trying to find the equivalent for it on the AMD/Nvidia side. I am thinking of the 6600 GT for the ATI card, but the rest I'm just not sure. I only have about $2-300 for the system including memory, but minus the hdd and $2-250 for the videocard.

In the past, I've built two computers and have had crap luck with compatibility, so hopefully, someone can help with this aspect as well.

Any thoughts or ideas?

Thanks,
Nick
__________________

jadedchron is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 01:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

ATI makes your 9800 Pro, and the Nvidia equivelant is the 5900Ultra

Your post doesnt make all that sense, and your not getting an upgrade for the money you have.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well 128MB is just crap, you need to get a 512 stick, for gods sakes you can get one for $40.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

...

Quote:
ATI makes your 9800 Pro, and the Nvidia equivelant is the 5900Ultra

Your post doesnt make all that sense, and your not getting an upgrade for the money you have.
-Yes, ATI makes the 9800 Pro, but the 5900 Ultra doesn't match up price-wise.

-Which part didn't make sense?

-I am running a 900mhz celeron with 256mb of ram. It's definitely an upgrade, but trying to find someone who can help me squeeze in the best for that budget range.

Quote:
Well 128MB is just crap, you need to get a 512 stick, for gods sakes you can get one for $40.
-128mb on the videocard, not the system (which is why it's next to the videocard in parenthesis).

Anyone else?
jadedchron is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 03:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

No on your link posted on the 1st post, it says "128MB PC2700 Memory"
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Yes, there was an "additional memory stick" of 512mb.

Basically, I'm just looking for an AMD equivalent of these components that would be 100% compatible:

*ECS PM800-M2 P4 Motherboard (8X800VD4ALURSATA)
*2.40 GHz 533MHz 1MB Intel Pentium 4

and an Nvidia equivalent of the ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb.

Thank you-
jadedchron is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well an AMD equivelant needs a new motherboard.

The 5900Ultra is the 9800Pro matchup, the 5900Ultra is no longer manafactuered now.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

And the AMD equivalent of a P4 2.4 Ghz after you got a AMD compatible motherboard, would be an Athlon XP 2400+
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 05:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

20g maxtor 5400rpm 512k cache HDD. LOL, your wasteing your money.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
20g maxtor 5400rpm 512k cache HDD. LOL, your wasteing your money.
That was not the harddrive purchased nor was it relevant. How can you be cleaning the forums one thread at a time with posts such as this?

Anyway, the 2600+ seems to be the closest match. Thanks anyway.
__________________

jadedchron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.