AMD Dual-Core Optimizer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2007, 12:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

Hey guys, i was looking at the amd website to find out if I could update drivers and I came across this file.?
I've never herd of it before and im wondering if it will help improve gaming performance.
here is the link

AMD Athlon™ 64/FX Processor Utilities & Updates

My 7900 gs will be arriving tomorrow so if this software will help that would be amazing.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 01:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

maybe, I think its for dual core processors only thou. When I first installed my x2 3800 i had all kind of lag and slow downs when came to gaming and this dual core optimizer fixed it.
__________________

__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

Should I risk tryin it at all?
It was under drivers and utilites for the processor I have?
I guess ill try my games without it and with and ill try finding out the differences.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 03:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
Should I risk tryin it at all?
It was under drivers and utilites for the processor I have?
I guess ill try my games without it and with and ill try finding out the differences.
You don't have a dual core processor, so it won't give you any benifit.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 08:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

i didnt notice any difference, but then maybe thats because i cant get any improvements on something thats working spot on! lol
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 08:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
You don't have a dual core processor, so it won't give you any benifit.
But yeah you cant make any use of it anyway!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 11:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

alright, thanks. I didnt install it so yeh.
IM waiting for my card now, im so tired, but im waiting.
i gotta work in a couple hours so it better arrive before that.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

what card is this replacing?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 03:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

i did have a 7600gt. And i bought a new 7900gs from frys for only 100 after 50 dollars in rebate. I herd that its way better than the 7600gt i had. Im at my workplace now, so once i get home ill be installing that card.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 04:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default Re: AMD Dual-Core Optimizer

u got a good deal there kragyq =0
__________________

__________________
Rundat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Overclocking my AMD2 Dual Core socket 940 3800+ processor palikari1 Overclocking and Modding 2 05-29-2007 03:25 AM
Dual core vs SLI in gaming laptop brother2angel New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-11-2007 07:41 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.