AMD cooling - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2003, 08:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

damn well if the case jumped 10C just when u were gaming then the card must have been pretty hot :P
MY card doesnt get that at least i dont think it does, because it's only a FX 5200
Yeah but for some reason my cpu and mobo do and ive got:
2 fans at the back and 1 at the front, stock hsf, thermal paste and of course 1 on the battery sucking hot air out... Is this a good setup?? And what can i do to improve it (I dont want water cooling and i dont want to spend to much $$)
thanks,
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 09:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

You definitely need a new box with more fan slots, you're gonna
generate alot more heat with the Athlon 2500.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 02:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

lol i just bought a new case lol and now ur telling me i need another one ?!?!?!? geese wat is the world coming too!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 05:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

you can pick up any cheap case for like 30 bucks.. go stand on the corner for a couple hours with a sign that says "I won't resort to eating ****!".. you'll get a new case in no time
Demalii is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 08:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Ya just bought a "new" case and it only had one fan support???
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 02:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

you probably do not need a new case unless your CPU temps are over 55celcius at full load. we are only suggesting to you that it is nice to have optimal air cooling. how many fans are on this new case?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 04:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

I only have two fans, one hsf, one case. My cpu stays at 40C idle, about 43C under load. cpu is a 2000xp oc to 1.8ghz.
__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I'm embarassed to say how many fans I got
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 11:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

1 fan support??? 3 u mean :P
Yeha but i like this case lol, how about if i took the side panel off lol would that take temps down?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 10:40 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Question Yo....

Yes, it would but it would be better if you had more cooling (ex. fans). Like you said you had just bought it and if you cannot return it and get a better one then i gess your stuck ... So you have some options 1. you can do some mods. 2. you can get a better case (there are decent ones for 30-40 bucks) or 3. if your stuck with the case just mod it or you can leave the side panel open. unless you can think of anything else..?? Guys?
__________________

Biohazard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.