AMD athlon XP 2800+ 333mhzfsb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2004, 06:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default AMD athlon XP 2800+ 333mhzfsb

i have the forementioned cpu and its clockin at 1250mhz when its supposed to be 2080mhz can anyone help me i have a Soyo KT600 Plus mobo and 512mb pc2700
__________________

Legendz is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 06:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

well... AMD's are not suppost to be like that. Like intels, a 3.0 is 3000MHZ. Its not the case with AMD's. Like a 2600 only pushes out like 1250MHZ like u said. Thats just how AMD's are. But i mean... The MAX amd only goes up to around 2.6 2.8? around there.. but there is nothing wrong with it. If i OC it then yea but its gonna be the same.
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to poipo
Default

Quote:
Its not the case with AMD's. Like a 2600 only pushes out like 1250MHZ like u said. Thats just how AMD's are.
do not listen to this person. ^^

look you your motherboard manual and see if there is a actual fsb switch on the motherboard. you have to switch that so it reads the cpu as a 333/400 fsb chip. you must either have a switch on the actual mobo or it will be in the bios. read your manual :P
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2800+
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L
ATI AIW Radeon 9700
Crucial 512 pc 3200
Maxtor 80 GB w/ 8meg cache
PD 4x Dual Format DVD burner
52x CD burner

Dual booted with WinXP Pro and Fedora Core 2
poipo is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

<-- not a amd fan nor do i have a amd. But as for the #'s go, i am right about it. a 2800 is not a 2.8ghz.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to poipo
Default

dont post on subjects you know little about. you might make him ruin his hardware, which is not coo.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP Barton 2800+
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L
ATI AIW Radeon 9700
Crucial 512 pc 3200
Maxtor 80 GB w/ 8meg cache
PD 4x Dual Format DVD burner
52x CD burner

Dual booted with WinXP Pro and Fedora Core 2
poipo is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

ok w/e.. i dont see how i could ruin his hardware when were talking about how fast a cpu is.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 07:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

if he tries to force a 2800+ to run at 2.8 Ghz it will probably explode into a giant ball of flames.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
well... AMD's are not suppost to be like that. Like intels, a 3.0 is 3000MHZ. Its not the case with AMD's. Like a 2600 only pushes out like 1250MHZ like u said. Thats just how AMD's are. But i mean... The MAX amd only goes up to around 2.6 2.8? around there.. but there is nothing wrong with it. If i OC it then yea but its gonna be the same.
Dude, get your facts down. The AMD 3000+ might not run at 3.0ghz, but it is as fast, they are desinged differently.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

ok look maybe someone is misunderstanding me... All im saying is, a 3000 is not a 3.0. ITS a different speed. I never said about it being not as fast or faster.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 10:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

yah i agree with Monster00 he didnt do shiz wrong. comeon guys get it together.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.