AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2007, 05:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

Quote:
Computer Setup:
  • A-Top Gladiator Mid-Tower ATX Case
  • Gigabyte GA-M55SLI-S4 Rev 2.0
  • AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ ~2.2 GHZ (Windsor)
  • Ninja Plus Rev B Heatsink with an Antec Tri-Cool fan
  • OCZ 2GB PC-6400 DDR2
  • EVGA 8800 GTS 320 MB
  • Maxtor 250.1GB Harddrive
  • 80 MM Intake Fan
  • 120 MM Scythe Exhaust Fan
Quote:
To Do List:
Add Screenies (CPUZ, Orthos)
Upload DXDIAG.txt
Quote:
9/20/07

NEW::

Been trying to get to 2.8, but it won't post? How can I fix that? I'm pretty sure RAM overheating causes BSODS so I underclocked from 533 to 400 and it didn't BSOD on startup (it did on 533) but it doesn't post, just restarts once it gets past the first post screen

I raised the VCORE from 1.375 (bios) to 1.45 (bios) just to try to get it to boot, but no go, raise the vcore more?

Starting a little worklog so I can get some help oc'ing my AMD 64 X2 4200+ and to help other people out.

I'm currently running it at 2700 MHZ with a 270 HTT, 10x Multi

Ram is running at 533 MHZ + HTT with 6-6-6-15 timings (is that possible? I'll check what it actually is later)

Currently running orthos to make sure its stable and I've got 56-58 C load temperatures and 37-40 C Idle

Luckily, the proccesor still works even though I had accidentally bent the pins... learn from my mistake and let the thermal paste and CPU cool before trying to wrench off the heatsink... My proccessor ripped clean off of the socket even though the bar hadn't been pulled up...

I'm trying to reach 3 GHZ just to break that mark, its probably not possible with my current cooling setup, but I'll go for it anyways
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

raise the multi back to 11.
lowering it to 10 jacks your ram speed all up.
you wil be lucky to get 3ghz. (its not your cooling its the windsor).
i could pull 2.9 w/my 4200 but it didnt like it. i couldnt make 3 and i tried tried tried.
6-6-6-15 is possible. for sure.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

good luck getting to 3ghz on a windsor...

ram should be at 5-5-5-15 @ 2.1 V cpu/9 divider
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
good luck getting to 3ghz on a windsor...

ram should be at 5-5-5-15 @ 2.1 V cpu/9 divider
cpu/9 divider?

eh, I got up to around 2744 MHZ, but I can't get it stable without the temps going through the roof

I'll raise the multi back to 11, still running my ram at 400 MHZ, so the multi shouldn't be a problem
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

good luck cup should be fun, my athlon 3800+ can hit 2.8Ghz before it craps out so your 4200+ X2 should have muc more room
Nick is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

Back when I had my 939 3800+ x2 I had it running @ 2.5ghz stable, but I couldn't go higher and have it stable.

But it was the memory holding me back.

And to the OP- It's probably your memory that's holding you back. I have the OCZ Dual Platinum 2 gigs and it's what's holding my quad core back.

Also, if you have the platinum, it should be 4-4-4-15 stock. But since you're OC'ing you could try 5's and MAYBE 6's, I don't really know why you'd have to run a CAS 6 for that OC though.

Like what was said before, it's probably yout CPU that can't hit 3ghz, not your RAM or mobo.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 05:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
Back when I had my 939 3800+ x2 I had it running @ 2.5ghz stable, but I couldn't go higher and have it stable.

But it was the memory holding me back.

And to the OP- It's probably your memory that's holding you back. I have the OCZ Dual Platinum 2 gigs and it's what's holding my quad core back.

Also, if you have the platinum, it should be 4-4-4-15 stock. But since you're OC'ing you could try 5's and MAYBE 6's, I don't really know why you'd have to run a CAS 6 for that OC though.

Like what was said before, it's probably yout CPU that can't hit 3ghz, not your RAM or mobo.
yeah, I always leave the ram as slow as possible to let the CPU have more then enough room to operate, I reclock and overclock the ram later on after I find a decent suitable CPU clock and find it stable

I'll be making more attempts tonight to see if I can reach 2.8 stable, and I hope I can
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

its easy.
lower your ram way below its rated speed and ramp your cpu up to 3ghz. if it will run, it is your ram holding you back. if it wont, its your cpu.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

You can try raising mobo voltage a tad.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 06:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: AMD 64 X2 4200+ OC'ing Worklog

Hmm I can't edit it anymore... but anyways I'm on 2.8 GHZ now!

x11 multiplier, 254 HTT

not rock stable... but temperatures are reaching 70+ so I don't know if I can get it stable

EDIT:

does anyone know anyway I can make it stable without raising the voltage? ram is already at 400 mhz, lowest... so its totally CPU related, impossible without raising vcore or dropping HTT?
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-22-2007 12:25 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
How well does an AMD x2 4200 overclock? jonny_uk Overclocking and Modding 42 09-18-2007 09:49 AM
AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 90 09-17-2007 07:56 PM
AMD loses another executive Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-06-2007 03:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.