AMD 64 2800+ Or P4 3.0 GHZ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2005, 03:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41
Send a message via AIM to Stillxlife
Default

I think you should go with the Pentium, because as far as im concerned, the 64 bit technology is useless you plan on buying 64-bit windows. Also Socket 754 doesnt support dual channel memory, which in my opinion, greatly increases your computer performance. As for the video card, id get just a regular (not pro or XT) Radeon 9600 128mb if you dont have alot of money to spend. You can pick em up on Newegg for like $60. I bought one off my buddy for $40 last week and im runnin Half-life 2 at 40 fps. I know thats not Wonderful, but for the price its pretty good, game runs smoothly and everything looks great.
__________________

__________________
-17\" Nec CRT with Anti-glare Stripped off (haha)
-Cooler Master Centurion Case
-Abit IS7 Mobo
-Northwood Core 3.0 P4
-2x512 Corsair XMS XL series Ram
-WD 10,000 RPM Raptor 74 GB HD
-SB Audigy 2 ZS
-Samsung CDRW/DVD Combo Drive
-128mb ATI Radeon 9600
Stillxlife is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
Yes, but member the 2800 runs at 1.6ghz 1600fsb. Im pretty positive this 2800 runs pretty cool. If you get a nice heatsink/cpu fan-60CFM. You would be able to OC it pretty easy. But for gaming, its better then the Intel.

You know the Athlon 3000 isent very much more.

2800+ runs at 1.8ghz...just an fyi
and ya, they do run pretty cool...mine runs around 40 degrees C
i love it for gamin'...runs absolutely amazing with a 9800pro..doom 3 *drools*...hl2...*droolz even more and louder*
__________________

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 12:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

I think regardless of the CPU, his system bottlenecks b4 that should even be considered.

256MB of RAM on the Pentium kills that choice right there, that's isn't even minimum requirements as far as my prefrences go. You want at LEAST 512MB of RAM, preferabbly in DC-Mode. Th MX-4000 64MB card is also going to kill your computer experience unless all you want to do is play starcraft or something.

You have an incredibly fast CPU/MOBO bolted down to a weak gfx card and barely enough RAM...i would save your money and go with something liek a 2.6C processor that is cheaper but can get you to 3.2-3.4GHz easily. Then you have extra money to get 512MB of RAM and a better vid card.

You have 2 power supplies listed, unless that was just a typo.

Your HDD is only 2MB-Buffer rate...consider a 8MB-Buffer RAte drive (same 80GB 7200RPM drive, just ATA133 8MB). That shouldn't be much more expensive if at all.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 04:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

agreed
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

CntdwnToExtn. The 2800 really runs at 1.6ghz and the 3000 runs at 1.8ghz. They just say its 1.8ghz.

Heres a review.
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...thlon64_2.html
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 12:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
CntdwnToExtn. The 2800 really runs at 1.6ghz and the 3000 runs at 1.8ghz. They just say its 1.8ghz.

Heres a review.
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu...thlon64_2.html
okay..i'm a bit slow...so bare with me?
how come mine shows a clock of 1.8ghz? compared to the 1.6ghz in the article?
is it cause i've got a different stepping and level 2 cache?
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:26 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

hmm dependin on what u want it for, games, work, whatever... At the moment I'd say go with the pentium because if its not just for games then pent would beat it easy. the cpu's are bout equal but the pent will be faster... totally up to why ur gettin the computer..

Primarily Games - AMD
Anything else - Pent
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I dont know, im wondering the samething. I have seen more then one review witch show it running at 1.6ghz. Maybe for different cores.

VIII, Pentium does not beat AMD in other benchmarks that hard. Pentium exceeds in Decoding and 3D Rendering. Those are the Pentium strongholds. Anything besides Gaming and those i mentioned, arent favored for either processor. For all the other benchmarks, it all really depends.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
I dont know, im wondering the samething. I have seen more then one review witch show it running at 1.6ghz. Maybe for different cores.
ya, i think that i do remeber knowin' that the 2800+ runs at 1.6ghz normally. i probably jumped the gun a bit to fast when i made my first post about it, pretty sure it was that time of the night where the booze and sleepiness kicked in.
i do know that it is VERY hard for me to find information on the clawhammers clocked at 1.8. most of the time it's 1.6 that comes up or it's a newcastle.....oh well....it still runs anything out there with ease so i'm not worried.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-20-2005, 12:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

3200 939's are the best
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.