Amd 3800 x2, 7800gt almost fried =\ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2006, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default Amd 3800 x2, 7800gt almost fried =\

I bought a new case, and I received it yesterday from newegg. I was putting my **** into my new case and This being my first new case, I didn't ground my motherboard, So I put it right on the steel of the case, I shorted out a couple things on my board, ( I saw sparks) and one of my system fan slots on my board to give it power doesnt work anymore. It also fried my new thermalake 430 watt power supply. I was freaking out last night, My brother bought me a new 400 watt power supply and I plugged it in, Nothing worked, I called him back up and he said something about the board being grounded, my father said this also (I'm only 18 and I'm a painting contactor with him). So I found out this case came with some pins that ground the board, I do it and everything works, Scared teh **** out of me since its over a $1000 dollar machine. :P
__________________

Travis18 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Wooooooow! You definatly should have looked that up since static can be your worst enemy or any unwanted electricity.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
Wooooooow! You definatly should have looked that up since static can be your worst enemy or any unwanted electricity.
It wasn't static, he put the board directly on the motherboard plate.

Tell me...how exactly did you get the I/O ports to fit correctly without having the spacers?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 12:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default

long screws LOL. i know alot about computers, but i never changed to a new case before :P and my old case has build in grounds lol
Travis18 is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 03:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

You could probably have avoided this if you'd Googled a little bit of information on it. Always do a bit of reading before doing something new, you may learn a lot.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 04:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

No matter how much you think you know you better look something up if youve never done it before. That same crap tought my friend a lesson when it actualy fried his mobo. He gave the mobo and processor to me in which i solderd a copacitor back on and it worked like new LOL.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 05:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

"if it works, pull it appart and find out why"
that's how I've learned most of what I know about PC's, and being on TF aswell
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 07:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
Wooooooow! You definatly should have looked that up....
ah, the monday morning quarterback...
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 08:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
"if it works, pull it appart and find out why"
That's basically me aswell. Though, it usually doesn't work anymore after I fool with it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 08:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I am switching cases cause i took a sledge hammer to my old one since it was ****in me off badly...

I know everything especially to GROUND the case...

I've been building computers since i was about 5 years old and now i am 16...

I made $100 in one hour one time just reformatting a computer for a chick at work cause she was going to send it back to dell and pay about $500.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.