AMD 3200 eqaul to....? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default AMD 3200 eqaul to....?

Wassup everybody, I just overclocked my AMD 3200+ to 2.6 and was just wondering what the performance of it is eqaul to a 3500-4000?

Is it fast enough now to overclock my 7900gt KO or fast enough to even run it at stock settings fine?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

i woulnt try oc'ing 7900gt's well maybe a little, but, one its not really necesary for overall preformace, and two the heatsink sucks

a 2.6 amd speed is equal to like fx-57 i think
__________________

__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

I have a zalman vf-900 on it. Also I heard you can OC to get a 30% increase in performance?

Why isnt it necesary?

So my processor is exactly eqaul to a fx-57? Just speed wise right, or is the fx-57 still better at other things. If so what?
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

It's unlikely you'll see a 30% increase when overclocking a GFX card that is already factory overclocked.

Technically, the FX57 has more L2 cache than your CPU, so it should perform better than your CPU at the same speeds. But the fact that your memory runs at 216MHz compared to the 200 you'd get with the FX57, should make it faster because of the increased memory bandwidth.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to vipercrazed Send a message via Yahoo to vipercrazed
Default

what game cant u run high settings in?

if thier is one then oc it, but all my games work fine, so i dont, i did get it to 520 one time but i didnt keep it.
__________________
bfg tech 7900GT@475 still ll 3200+ venice@2.72, 1.55v ll OCZ 1GB ll WD 320 GB hdd
vipercrazed is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 02:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

Ohh alright... Why didnt you keep it at 520? Isnt that the speeds of a KO SC. By the way I have a eVga 7900gt KO (reloaded version)

Also is the 7900gt KO the same as an KO SC or its actually two different models?
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Download "Central Brain Identifier" here and check the spot where it's circled on the picture I attached called P-rating.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

Id say a 3200+ @2.6ghz would be a 4000+


Heres mine!!

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vipercrazed
i woulnt try oc'ing 7900gt's well maybe a little, but, one its not really necesary for overall preformace, and two the heatsink sucks

a 2.6 amd speed is equal to like fx-57 i think
???

Ocing a 7900GT isn't necessary for overall performance?

The heatsink sucks?

A 2.6ghz 512kb l2 cache processor is equal to a 2.8ghz 1mb l2 cache CPU?

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

Central Brain Identifier would say something close to that
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.