amd 2800+ oveheating!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2004, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Default amd 2800+ oveheating!!!

Hi

i have just bought and amd 2800+
but it runs at 60-70 C when system idle
when full load it even gets over 80 C

i am using copper silent 2 (arctic cooling)
seems work fine

my board is asus a7v8x-x

what may be the cause

thanks
__________________

emret is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Default

the heatsink might not be properly placed, just a intuition, i would think it might not work if u had it wrong for a few mins at most.
also make sure the airflow is getting througho ur case in a correct flow


-gkhan
__________________

gkhan is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 04:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

if you are using only thermal pad, scrape it off and use thermal paste.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

your lucky your mobo isnt equiped w/ c.o.p. b/c the threshhold is usually 70 C. I agree use arctic silver thermal compound....carefully remove all of the old pad or compound w/ rubbing alcohol and a pair of eyeglasses polishing cloth. Make sure you dont over apply the compound....just a thin layer in the center of the processor....if that doesnt work i would look at replacing the fan.
__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Also try lapping your heatsink... really useful. And think about a additional case fan
__________________
Walking in the dark
Meck is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 09:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Default

consider your air flows. You should have intake and outake.
NYCtech174 is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 02:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

make sure there is enough compound on there too, have read about new people putting it on themselves, they put literally a paper thing layer and it just spreads out and doesn't give enough contact...
Demalii is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

That heatsink has 3 speed settings I think... make sure you have it on 2800rpm. Where are you taking the temp, Are you using mbm5 or the BIOS?
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 05:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Wait how do you change the speed for the heatsink????
__________________

__________________
Walking in the dark
Meck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.