AM2 Overclockability? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2006, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default AM2 Overclockability?

So what kind of results are out there?

Did some searching and saw that a X2 5000 hit 3.0 ghz on stock voltage...kinda impressive..but what about the cheaper ones?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 09:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it's not that impressive really seeing as it starts at 2.6ghz, curious as to what the cooling was though???

they are supposed to basically overclock roughly the same as their respective s939 brethren, e.g. New Orleans=Venice. the AM2 variants are supposed to overclock a bit better due to a larger die size (die size, not die process size).
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I know the FX-62 can be overclocked a bit better than the SKT 939 CPU's
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

It's about the same as socket 939 right now... **** my AMD Athlon Orleans 3000+ hits 3.0Ghz slightly stable for 30 min on stock cooling...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

That's pretty good, I was able to get mine at 3.015GHz for a few minutes lol.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 02:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
It's about the same as socket 939 right now... **** my AMD Athlon Orleans 3000+ hits 3.0Ghz slightly stable for 30 min on stock cooling...
stable for 30 min IMO isn't stable.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 10:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

He just basically means he got it to boot for a while.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.