Am2 3800+ X2 Oc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Am2 3800+ X2 Oc

Hey everyone,

Some AS5, and a copper heatpiped heatsink are on there way.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106068

(A BB of AS5 in the center does the trick right?) Well once it's all installed...How do I go about OC it to its highest potential?

Should I crank up the Vcore to 1.5 or something and burn in the CPU/AS5 for a week?

Then Drop it down and OC gradually to say...2.6GHz???

I'll need some guidance on proper Vcore adjusting methods as well as finding the darn memory divider in my BIOS. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Well I'm in a huge pickle. My current BIOS won't boot at +220 FBS. (Established problem with the M2N-SLI Deluxes..*augh* ) So I need to flash the new BIOS but I don't even have a floppy drive lol.

*Seriously regrets not going CONROE for a few extra $$$*
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Don't crank up your voltage to 1.5 to start with, just plug it in and use it for a week. Here's a little guide that I wrote, see if it helps.

Maximum CPU speed:
First off you want to find the highest your CPU can actually go without the ram interfering. To do so you have to set the ram to the lowest possible speed, which is 100MHz or 200MHz as opposed to 200MHz and 400MHz effective. You might be thinking to yourself what does this have to do with anything? Well it has a lot to do with everything. Your ram is rated to run at 200MHz or 400MHz effective and it runs at a 1:1 with your CPU's HTT. This means that every time your raise the HTT frequency the ram frequency goes up. For example if everything is running at stock speeds (200:200) and you put the HTT up say 5MHz to 205 the ram follows at 205. The ram usually maxes out before the CPU ( in general, but there are exceptions) and this is why you set it to the lowest. The objective of this is to have the most efficient overclock possible. Say your CPU's HTT can go up to 265 but your ram maxes out at 245, you miss that much of an overclock. So now with the ram running at 100MHz and the HTT running at 200MHz you can put the HTT frequency all the way up to 300MHz knowing that whenever it crashes or doesn’t post it’s your CPU and not your ram.

HT Frequency:
So to overclock your CPU you raise the HTT frequency slowly in 1-5MHz increments and adjust the voltage accordingly. You also have to adjust your HT frequency. You calculate the HT frequency by multiplying the HT frequency by the HTT frequency. You want to keep it as close as possible to 1000. At stock, 5 X 200 = 1000. You usually have a little bit a leeway like 1100 but not much more.

Maximum RAM speed:
So now that you’ve found your max CPU speed you want to find out just how far your ram goes. Let’s say your CPU’s HTT maxed out at 270. We now know that, so let’s start overclocking with the ram at 200MHz. Again do it in only 1-5MHz adjusting the ram voltage accordingly. Adjust everything that has to do with the CPU like you did before. For example you had to raise the voltage to 1.425V when the HTT hit 230. You do that until you have found your max ram STABLE ram speed. So let’s say your ram maxes out at 235MHz but your CPU’s HTT can go all the way up to 270. What do you do now? You use a ram divider.

RAM Divider:
A ram divider is simple. It run’s your ram at a slower speed just like we did at the beginning. So now at this point setting the ram at 166MHz would be your best bet. So now the ram is running at 166MHz and your HTT is at 200MHz. So when you put your HTT frequency at 205 your ram will be running at 171MHz. So now when you set your HTT at 269 your ram will run at 235MHz. That is the most efficient overclock you can get.
Cooling:

Cooling is very important. The new "Venice" and "Sandiego" cores run very cool. They can reach impressive speeds with stock cooling. With better cooling you can achieve higher speeds with more stability. The lifetime on a CPU today is something ridiculous like 1 million hours. Overclocking your CPU does decrease the life span of it but not significantly so there's really nothing to worry about.

Stability testing:

Stability is the most important part of overclocking. You don’t want to be using your computer when you’re doing something important and then it just restarts or crashes because it’s unstable. There are a few programs on the net that can test the CPU’s stability for you. My favorite is a program called “Prime95”. The best type of test you can run would be the blend test. This tests all the components that have been overclocked. With a dual-core CPU it’s just a little bit more complicated because you have to test two cores. In order to do this, find prime95 and open it, then go to “run” in the start menu and browse to where prime95 is. When you find it click open and then type “_A-1”. The underscore represents a space. So after you do that it should look like this: “D:\Stuff\Computer\Prime95\PRIME95.EXE -A1” with no quotes obviously. Go to Advanced in one window and click on affinity, make sure that one is set to either 1 or 0 and in the other prime95 window make sure that is set to the opposite. So the first prime95 window is running on CPU 0 and the second one is running on CPU 1.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 09:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

omg... I am sooo PO'd. My trusty ASUS has failed me huge this time. They managed to F this board to the max for OC'ers. HTT max of 220. I just bought some AS5 and copper hsf etc etc...Which will get me no where. Also, another gig of ram is on its way to replace the PERFECTLY FINE ram I have already....



#$@%^
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

That's why I don't like ASUS and AMD. Everyone keeps on telling me I'm on crack or something for saying that. I just don't find ASUS and AMD too reliable for obvious resaons.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

i guess ill install the hsf and as5...replace the ram to be sure and just wait it out. If my games and stuff keep crashing...ehh...gives me a chance to talk to my gf lol.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

lol that's nice... u need an excuse to talk to your girlfriend?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

haha...i don't notice that she's online. lol. But...my problems with games crashing seems to have stopped all together. This is very strange. I think my ram timings were just off. Either way I'm swapping it when the other one gets here. I really hope this issue gets resolved with the M2N-SLI Deluxes. They're great boards but ****...220 fsb maximum? That's lame.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 09:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

ok, ive got OCZ x2 512mb ram (OCZ OCZ2667512ELGEGXT 512 MB DDR2-667 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-15 @ 333 MHz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 MHz) (3-3-3-9 @ 200 MHz))(from everest). now since my multiplyer is x10 and my speed is 200, im at 2ghz, what do i want to clock my ram down to 200mhz? and where would i find this in the bios? Also what does the -A1 do in “D:\Stuff\Computer\Prime95\PRIME95.EXE -A1”?

EDIT: i just found out my ram is at 400mhz since the speed was set to auto in the bios. So would be setting it at 200mhz be the next step then start to increase 1-5mhz increases? Running Prime95 to test.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 11:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

The A1 let's the OS open two of the same program to test both CPU's.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.