Am I peaked?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2006, 03:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Am I peaked??

Check sig for where my OC's are for Vid and Cpu:

I tried raising the FSB by one more mhz and it became unstable, same with the video. I'm really surprised and happy with how well this setup overclocks so far, but I would like to peak it out. My buddy said I could loosen the RAM timings...I have no idea what to do for that...i'd like to try to end up with it OC'd to 3.2 ghz...is it possible/likely? I'm gonna buy 2 80mm fans for front intake and a 4,800 rpm 120 mm fan for rear to replace 80 mm one, and a good heat sink for the cpu for the cooling aspect.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

have you tried putting a ram divider on, and whats your vcore on teh cpu, because 2.9GHz is very nice, thats a FX-57, you have a $1000 CPU right now.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 10:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Try using a divider, or try upping the Vcore on the CPU.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

don't set the vcore too high though. Remember for san diego and venice: 1.6v is toooo high.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

And they say 1.7V is to high for a newcastle, but I have no problems.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default Hey dude GOOD INFO

Twizted... The only thing we have to figure out for loosening the timings is which settings to losen. I am not to familiar with over 9 ram settings compared to my 5 on my msi neo plat 2. So we can start there.. Also you are running the divider and you are still 38 over ddr 400 so that may be a problem. There is the possibility that we can lower the ram as much as possible and see what the cpu can actually reach.

This way you will know your peak for cpu and than can adjust the memory if possible. If not you underclock until its stable. The settings you are @ are fine. Member one thing. You are not trying to get the world record you are trying to get your moneys worth. @ 2.9 you have not only got your moneys worth but probably saved 500bucks just by that. so no worries if it doesnt go anywhere..

Ill look on my overclocking and repost what setting I changed to losen my timings.


The cpu does have a max overclock like i said.. even if you feed it 2v and its running cool does NOT mean you can overclock more. It just helps... ill brb and post the timings and what settings they are.
__________________
System Specs:
-Msi Neo Platinum 2 Nforce 3 Ultra
-Amd 3200+ @ 2.6ghz (260fsb x10 4xhtt)
-Ocz EL Platinum Revision 2 (3 3 3 10 @ 260 =DDR520)
-Ultra X-connect 500W Modular Power Supply
-BFG 6800gt OC @ 420/1.1
-Western Digital Caviar 200gb 8mb Sata Hard drive
-NEC Black DVD Burner
-Logitech X-530 5:1 Speaker System
-ViewSonic G90FB Black 19\"
-Kingwin Mutant X Silver/Gray w/ window
-Thermalright Xp-90 Cpu running Idle @28c Load @ Highest 51c Average 39c
-Windows Xp Home Edition Service Pack 2
**Whimmy wham wham wozzle!**
crossphyr is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
don't set the vcore too high though. Remember for san diego and venice: 1.6v is toooo high.

Ryan
1.6 is not too high. On a newcastle I went over 1.8
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 04:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

My motherboard only lets me go to 1.7 maxed :'(
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 04:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

1.6V is risking frying the entire memory controller Chris. It's not about frying the core, but frying the memory controller. The thing can't work without that. It needs it just as much as it needs the core.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

Ok..no worries vcore is at 1.50v
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.