alienware workstations - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 01:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Laptops are good for portability and saving space. Otherwise, you want a desktop, and you can get a 1337 desktop for so much less than a 1337 laptop.

I recommend this:

Case: Go pick up some plain jane case from a comp store.

MoBo: ASUS A8N-SLI 939 Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131524

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 939 Venice
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

Video Card: eVGA PCI-E 16x 6800GT 256MB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130215

RAM: 2GB (2x1GB) OCZ Performance 184-Pin PC3200
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146970

Hard Drive: Western Digital Cavalier SE 300GB Ultra ATA100
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144391

CD/DVD: NEC Black IDE DVD/CD Burner
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152047

Hope it helps!
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 02:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

what about this:
AMD 4000+(HEY DOSE THE CORE MAKE A DIFFRENCE)
Abit AV8 Motherboard WITH eVGA 6800GT(AGP)
or
MSI SLI equipted MOBO,eVGA 6800gt (PCI)
WITH 3 GIGS OF RAM
please feel free comment on this..becouse i still think i can build better than this
__________________

zenyora is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 02:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

hey is it true that if i OC the AMD 4000+it ranks up to an FX-53 with a locked multilplier....and how does this effetc the speed...?
zenyora is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Well for 3-D modeling, your should go with a dual core pentium D. (a good choice if your preferred 3-d suite supports SMP)
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 04:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

is there any amds that are dual core?
zenyora is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:19 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Opterons, and X2.....
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

how do they rank next to the dual core intels?
zenyora is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 03:18 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I'd rather an AMD user tell you that answer. If I say anything that does not please them, I will get death threats in my PM box.

AMD users are like minorities. Intel users are like white people, If the white man says anything that the minority population does not like, the minority b*tches out the whites (or intel users)
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 03:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

what about the intel 64 dual core and amd64 dual core...any work with them before....which one do you think is better(i am scared now)..lol..
zenyora is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Well, I think even the Amd users will agree, (im one myself), The dual core intels would be your best bet. Amd's are generally best for gaming, and intels are better for multitasking and stuff. Plus the loads of Cache that intels have will help out quite a bit.
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.