air circulation - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 01:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

on my case I have an intake at the bottom of the front and a exhaust in back. now my intake has the HD mount in front of it causing quite an obstruction. does that hamper my airflow or does the air just go around it??
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:06 AM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The air goes around it, cooling your hard drive as it does (good thing ).

A rear exhaust is good. It helps pull the hot air out of your case.

As was stated above, a blowhole is good as well. A blowhole is a fan and hole in the top of the case that pulls hot air out. Heat rises and gets trapped in the top of the case. The PSU pulls some of this out, but in doing so it doesn't get much cooling. A blowhole fixes this problem.

My case is a CoolerMaster Wave Master. It has the optional blowhole (in place of the top USB ports). Keeps my case cool, but I have to use a hub for USB attachments.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 59
Default

I have two Intakes on the front One Exhaust on the back and anothe exhaust on the top...it does me well
__________________
i traded my computer for a paintball gun :D
epikz is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:57 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

my rule is +1 exhaust then you got intake, so if you got 1 intake then you need 2 fans. You also want the exhausts fan as close as you can to each other and the same with intake. It doesn't matter if the intakes are in the front the intakes can be in the back if it is better, I mean if there is an AC vent back there so you get more cooler air.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 06:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

The amount of dust that gets into your computer depends on the amount of dust in the room. I have my computer on the floor with a huge hole in the front where I knocked in the cheap drive bay covers, and I haven't dusted my computer in almost a year (and it is only now starting to build up a significant amount around the GPU fan).

As for my case fans I use: 1x intake (side), 1x exaust (rear), 1x PSU
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:04 AM   #16 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

Before i flip my psu upside down, the fan used to be facing up. It was sucking all the air in the heat bubble on top of the psu layer. Then after reading around, i decided to flip it upside down so the fan faced down. Thats because the four screw holes were upside down and i drilled new ones. After i flipped it to the "correct" position, the ambient temperature in the case has gone up. So im wondering should i filp it back
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

I have one intake one exhaust, and my temps are very high, I use the Thermaltake Tsunami Dream. I think my system just runs hot for some reason. It is annoying. I have under-voltaged the CPU, but it runs at over 50 degrees sometimes. (Orig:1.3V, down to 1.15V).

Charlie-
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Thats interesting chazzer, depending on how warm it is outside mine sits between 39-42degrees when im just sat on msn and surfing the net etc, then when i game it goes up abit to something like 46-48 but never seen it get any higher so its all good.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

man whats with that guys....

Im like at 29-32 when im surfing the internet and such but for gaming it never breaks 40..
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:26 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

jonny, do you use the stock voltage?
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.