AGP bus speed? **Please Answer Quickly** - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2004, 01:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default AGP bus speed? **Please Answer Quickly**

I am overclocking a 2GHz Athlon 64 3200+ 1MB L2 to 2.2GHz by increasing the FSB to 220MHz instead of 200MHz. The PCI speed stays locked at 33MHz, but the AGP speed increases with the speed of the FSB at a ratio of 3:1. Is this dangerous?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 01:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yup It is if you go too far. With my current system (in sig) I put my fsb to 145 and it put my AGP up to 72 with no problems...but I don't think you want to go above 70 especially with your system...too risky of frying something out I'd think :/

EDIT: Yeah 220 / 3 = 73.blahblah so yeah I think you'd be pushing AGP limits and would be lookin for some possible damage, but I'm no pro on pushin the limits. But it's too far for my likings
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Man, that sucks, because it raised my Aquamark score 10,000 points just by having the FSB overclocked.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

then back the fsb down a little bit. can't you change the speeds of PCI and AGP induvidually?
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
then back the fsb down a little bit. can't you change the speeds of PCI and AGP induvidually?
If your board has the options for it it can. Mine doesn't, but I don't know about beedubs, the ABit NF7-S2 for example allows you to set your CPU:AGP:PCI ratio which by default I believe is 4:2:1 so you can either change the ratio to it's appropriate proportion which if your FSB was at 200 would be 6:2:1 or also in the case of the ABit board mentioned you can simply 'Lock' the AGP and PCI bus's so that they stay at their PCI:33 and AGP:66

So check your BIOS options beedub...check for an AGP or PCI Bus lock option or see if you have ratio options. It'll be in a set of 3 CPU:AGP:PCI just like that. Like I said by default it'll probably be 4:2:1 but I'm not sure what your computers full specs and defaults are.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

as far as I know AGP┬╗PCI ratio is always 2:1....default is 66:33Mhz, the ratio cannot be changed. If u lock the AGP u automatically lock the PCI
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah the AGP:PCI ratio is always 2:1 but I was giving him the whole combo he needs to look for, but yeah I should have thrown in that statement.
Quote:
If u lock the AGP u automatically lock the PCI
Best bet is to lock it, but like I said if your FSB is at 200 you could also set it to 6:2:1
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.