after applying as5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2006, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default after applying as5

im thinking of buying as5 and getting rid of the thermal pad from my evga 6200.... after i apply the as5, what should i do? is it safe just to leave it when it's on and like just overclock or should i wait a couple days with my computer off?
__________________

__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 12:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Run it stock for a while to let the as5 settle before overclocking
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

how long should that take? and can i leave the computer on? cause i hardly ever shut it off....
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

4 days to 1 week should be enough time.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 02:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

it needs to go through some heat cycles, so yup, you are going to have to turn it off.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

****...
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 05:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Personally I'd just keep it running. It's not like your videocard is going to blow up. There is still a hs/f so I think it would be fine. I removed my heatsink of my 6200 and put the VF-700 and temps go no higher than 35*C.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

i dont think i need a new hs or any as5... cause i dont know whats limiting me but i think it's the card itself... it's a evga 6200 128mb agp video card and i use to clock it at 410 core and mem at 460 and my idle temp was 44.. i made my own pci fan cooler with the cardboard.(i found that idea on here) and now my idle temp is 34 (was 40c stock temp and stock clocking which is 350 core and 400 mem) and now my oc is 425 core and 540 mem.. my temp here is 41 on load and i can't oc anymore because i will start getting artifacts.. whats up with this??? i used to be able to oc up to 75c on load. did i hit a wall with this?
__________________

__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.