Advice on OCing an Opteron 170 (my first ever OC) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2008, 03:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Advice on OCing an Opteron 170 (my first ever OC)

hmammen has a DFI Ultra-D s939 board for sale in the B/S/T forum. Killer board, brand new.
$$$ Hyundai 17inch LCD | DFI Lanparty NF-4 | Asus K8V-X mobo | Corsair | Antec $$$

I need to play with OCing this week. I am trying to get ahead on my homework so I will have some free time to play around with it. Sucks that I have forgotten just about all that I knew about it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 03:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Advice on OCing an Opteron 170 (my first ever OC)

i would underclock the ram some more until you can make it run at 1T command rate. then see how high the ram will run at that rate. then up the processor speed as high as possible.
1T command rate with slower ram speed and slightly lower overclock'd cpu will be better than 2T command rate, slightly faster ram speed, and higher oc'd cpu.
for example, if you can make your ram run 1T @ 150-175 mhz, it will run better (and faster) than 2T @ 220+mhz. the lower command rate setting makes a BIG difference. more than a few mhz on ram speed and a couple hundred on cpu speed.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 03:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: Advice on OCing an Opteron 170 (my first ever OC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
hmammen has a DFI Ultra-D s939 board for sale in the B/S/T forum. Killer board, brand new.
$$$ Hyundai 17inch LCD | DFI Lanparty NF-4 | Asus K8V-X mobo | Corsair | Antec $$$

I need to play with OCing this week. I am trying to get ahead on my homework so I will have some free time to play around with it. Sucks that I have forgotten just about all that I knew about it.
Nice tip. I've posted him a question.
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 03:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: Advice on OCing an Opteron 170 (my first ever OC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i would underclock the ram some more until you can make it run at 1T command rate. then see how high the ram will run at that rate. then up the processor speed as high as possible.
1T command rate with slower ram speed and slightly lower overclock'd cpu will be better than 2T command rate, slightly faster ram speed, and higher oc'd cpu.
for example, if you can make your ram run 1T @ 150-175 mhz, it will run better (and faster) than 2T @ 220+mhz. the lower command rate setting makes a BIG difference. more than a few mhz on ram speed and a couple hundred on cpu speed.
OK I understand all of that apart from what 1T and 2T refers to.
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 03:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Advice on OCing an Opteron 170 (my first ever OC)

it refers to the command rate for your memory.
thats how long it takes for the initial memory fetch to occur....one clock cycle (1T) or two clock cycles (2T).
memory modules will vary greatly in their ability to overclock with a 1T command rate. many will not even be able to run stock speeds.
it is my own opinion thru benchmarks that makes me say there is a big difference. lol...it might not be such a big one to others.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 03:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: Advice on OCing an Opteron 170 (my first ever OC)

OK I understand now. Thanks. I knew all this once lol.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decisions Decisions?? Some advice plz bilbo1234 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-29-2008 10:54 PM
Ocing Opteron 180.. whats too much voltage? +3mv? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 15 12-05-2007 03:28 AM
OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 45 08-25-2007 05:23 AM
Fellow Geeks.. MrCoffee New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-06-2007 05:34 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.