Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2009, 03:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

I want to OC my E8400 to 3.6. I have ASUS P5Q Pro Mobo, 4GB G. Skill DDR2-800 Black Pi, and Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7. As far as I know I will change the FSB to 400, turn off SpeedStepping and C1E, and change to voltage to 1.275ish (help me out with a good number) and is there anything else I should change/enable/disable. After I do all that I'm supposed to run Prime95 for like 10-12 hrs? Should I manually change my RAM timings to 4-4-4-12 or leave it at default 5-5-5-15 when I OC? Because the Black Pi is supposed to be 4-4-4-12, and my Mobo sets it to 5-5-5-15.

If you could throw in some advice it would help me. It's my first time OC'ing anything
__________________

Nubbleet is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

have you maxed out your speed on stock voltage?

i would do that first, then when you hit the wall, up the voltage lil by lil.
you should be fine running yoru ram @ 4-4-4-12 as long as it has the correct ram voltage to it.
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

What do u mean on stock voltage? Should I leave the voltage setting auto. Also I haven't changed the RAM voltage. I heard that if I leave the CPU voltage on Auto setting it will change it or something.
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

turn set your voltage to stock settings manually. then max out your cpu overclock. then raise your cpu voltage if you have not hit 3.6ghz
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

So what you're saying is to change FSB to 400, then keep raising the voltage from stock until it shows 3.6ghz? Then once it shows 3.6ghz in the BIOS boot into OS and run Prime95?
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigballer044 View Post
So what you're saying is to change FSB to 400, then keep raising the voltage from stock until it shows 3.6ghz? Then once it shows 3.6ghz in the BIOS boot into OS and run Prime95?
if 400 = 3.6 then ya

3.6GHz is only a 600MHz overclock, these chips can hit well over 4.0GHz.
lots of (intel) chips can get a 400-600MHz overclock on stock voltages
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 04:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

Well I'm new to overclocking so I don't know much at all. Yes it's a small overclock, and I couldn't find out the stock voltage. I tried to google search etc but I got 0.85V – 1.3625V off the Intel site. Could you tell me a good one to start off with if possible? Also is there anything else I need to change/enable/disable in the BIOS?
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 04:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigballer044 View Post
Well I'm new to overclocking so I don't know much at all. Yes it's a small overclock, and I couldn't find out the stock voltage. I tried to google search etc but I got 0.85V Ė 1.3625V off the Intel site. Could you tell me a good one to start off with if possible? Also is there anything else I need to change/enable/disable in the BIOS?
try 1.25 or close, just saw a screenshot of 3.8GHz with that voltage.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Advice on OC'ing E8400 - 3.6

Ok I think I got it now. I'll test tonight when I sleep with Prime95 and see how it turns out.
FSB-400x9=3.6
Voltage-1.225
PCIE Spread Spectrum-Disabled
CPU Spread Spectrum-Disabled
C1E-Disabled
Speedstep-Disabled
__________________

Nubbleet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on 1st time budget build Dudeman System Upgrades 6 04-12-2009 06:29 PM
OK, ocing my q6600 to 3.6 & ram ocing. (no, not a how do i oc thread) Luke Overclocking and Modding 10 08-29-2008 02:44 PM
Decisions Decisions?? Some advice plz bilbo1234 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-29-2008 10:54 PM
e8400 vs e4300 andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-28-2008 01:56 AM
Motherboard for OCing the e8400 nOcLuE98 New Systems | Building and Buying 39 01-24-2008 03:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.