Advice on getting a new case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default Advice on getting a new case

I was thinking about getting this case for my next build.



Can anyone tell me if it would be a good idea or not and if not WHY.

I have a mate who knows very little about pc's but he told me IHO it would not be a good idea to get it because of something about the meterial it's made with produces static electrisity, does anyone know if this is correct or not.

Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

wow first off let me say that you know dumb people
secondly adrylic cases are a pain to make look nice and dont offer the same cooling effects of an aluminium case which itself absorbs some heat

IMHO i dont like how it looks but static electricity is not gonna happen otherwise all these cases would have been pulled from the market
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 09:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aspire.comptech
wow first off let me say that you know dumb people
I will repeat I have a mate who knows very little about pc's, after he said this i also had queries about static electrisity. Bassically i thought an aluminium would be easily grounded but what is there to ground the acrylic?

Also IMO i don't think it would be a pain to get it looking good.

As far as heat wise in my Aluminium case my temps are 28C at idle and 32C under load, putting a few more degrees on those would not be harmful.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 11:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

That case looks alright to me. it's not something i would want, but you're the one buying it.

If you bundle up the cables right and use a few round cables, i think it would look good.

As for the Static electricity thing, i would just make sure to wear one of those anti-static wrist bands. the acrylic will act as an insulator, and if you do have any static build up, it would be more likely to discharge through one of your computer's components.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drworm2005
I will repeat I have a mate who knows very little about pc's, after he said this i also had queries about static electrisity. Bassically i thought an aluminium would be easily grounded but what is there to ground the acrylic?

Also IMO i don't think it would be a pain to get it looking good.

As far as heat wise in my Aluminium case my temps are 28C at idle and 32C under load, putting a few more degrees on those would not be harmful.

Drworm2005.
seems like your mind is made..
tylerdrude is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Check out this site for a cool custom case:
www.voyeurmods.com

Here's the link to their custom air-cooled cases:
http://www.voyeurmods.com/index.php?...&id=3&subid=70

And here's the link to their water-cooled cases:
http://www.voyeurmods.com/index.php?...y&id=2&subid=1

No, I don't have one, but, Yes, I wish I did.

EDIT: They do ship international, but email them to make sure that they can ship to your locale.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tylerdrude
seems like your mind is made..
Yes you could say that, but i got told to find out about this static thing. If i found out that it would fry my components do you really think i would still get one.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 01:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

One thing to make a mental note of is that if you have LEDs inside of it, it is going to shine like nothing you've ever seen. It might get irritating after a while... all of those lights shining out. But, it seems kinda cool to me... but it is nothing I'd particularly want for a long time.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Static is not an issue. The thing is made out of the same material that is used to make case windows. It is just alot thicker. I think what he meant was directed more towards the ground. When you hook up peices to an aluminum or steel case, the case itself acts as a ground as it is enough to dissipate all of the static. My worry would be grounding all of the peices. Since they cannot ground to the case, they have to rely on the ground through the PSU. That should be enough, but still, I would be a little worried about that.

Other than that, I have seen that case before and have always wanted it. You know when you want something, but when the chance to buy it comes round, you dont buy it? Happens to me all the time.
Him is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 08:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
I have seen that case before and have always wanted it. You know when you want something, but when the chance to buy it comes round, you dont buy it? Happens to me all the time.
Yeah, i always do it as well, although this time i did decide to buy it. I threw all my old stuff in it cause i couldn't wait. Like you said the grounding will have to rely on the PSU alone and i think this is a problem. I only have a crappy CODEGEN 350W PSU and my 12V+ rail has been jumping all over the place from 0.90-6.92V I'm going to get another PSU i'm thinking maybe THIS ONE I can get it for $119.00AU, i was also thinking about putting some ground wires from my PSU to the mobo,DVD,HDD etc etc. What do you think of this.

Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.