Advantages of two CD/DVD rewriters drives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2006, 10:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Advantages of two CD/DVD rewriters drives?

as title folks? ive got a spare cd/dvd rewriter drive doing nothing and a free bay in my case.

Is it just that id be able to copy the contents of one disc onto another at the same time? stuff like that? any other benefits?
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 11:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Saving wear and tear is the main use I see.

My old comp has a DVD burner and a DVD player in it. The player gets the most usage (cheaper to replace).

My current rig only has a single burner, but I use Daemon tools to mount images of my games so I can play without the disk spinning in my drive.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 01:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

yeah making an image of games is a great idea, ill be doing that when ive got more games.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 01:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

My main game is BF2. I just click my icon and away I go... no need to worry about where the disk is (put away for safe keeping).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 01:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

good time saver to, you dont have to go looking for the disk if its not where it should be. I personally rarely use my Optical Drives but they're handy to have as always
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I believe it's faster performance to run the game from the hard drive than from the cd, correct?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
I believe it's faster performance to run the game from the hard drive than from the cd, correct?
Correct, CD drives have to read the CD AND transfer that information to the game. If it's an image, it just reads directly from the hard drive.

However, this usually just decreases load times, I wouldn't expect you to own at Battlefield 2 just because you imaged the CD.
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 03:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
this usually just decreases load times
yeah. The CD is just for authentification.

If you want to decrease your load times, check out the BF2 guide on TweakGuides. The last page or two has a couple of things that really help out, but the whole guide is definitely worth the read.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 04:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I can [snipped] two DVD's at once, effectively doubling my productivity. I wouldn't even consider having just one DVD burner.
The General is offline  
Old 11-11-2006, 04:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i can't imagine what word that could have been to have been snipped in between can and two dvd's.. only thing i can think of is burn...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.