Adding a partiton - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 04:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 378
Default Adding a partiton

Having a 80gb HD. Is it possible to add a partiton, so you have 2 partitions on the HD, and put windows on one and the rest of your stuff on the other? I heard it can make a performance boost.
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 05:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 54
Default

yeah, its possible, but im pretty sure it has to be done on a 'clean' drive.
__________________

__________________
P4 3.00Ghz/HT 1Mb Prescott OC\'ed to 3.50Ghz
ASUS P4S800-MX
1024Mb DDR 400 PC3200 [2x512mb]
Western Digital 80Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 160Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 200Gb 7200rpm
Nvidia Geforce 6200 256Mb
LiteOn 12x DVD + R/RW
480W PSU
JamesR is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 08:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

no it doesn't have to be done on a clean drive if by that you mean new. as long as you haven't already installed windows and made the windows partiton the size of the entire hdd it's not a problem. just download some partition software and set the partition sizes. its easies if the drive has no partitions (either because its new or they were deleted) then you simply create a partition the size and type you want your windows partition to be. then partition the remainder as storage
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 08:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

If im not mistaken, you can install another OS it if you have an OS installed and even if the existing partition is the full capacity of your HD...

Try using Partion Magic...its a good program I used to use...Im sure you can create partitions even if you have an os installed/the partition is the partition is all the hd capacity becuase i used to do that....you only need to have some free space on your hd and youell it to create a partion..it uses that space and creates one....even if you already have partitions, it can take some free space from 1 partition and give to the other partition, or you can create another partition from the free space you have...

As for installing windows, i never tried that but there was an option in Partition Magic which sais so...i never tried it but it should work...

hope that helped...
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 05:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it is possible to do it after an OS is installed but it is far easier and safer to do it pre-install.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JamesR
yeah, its possible, but im pretty sure it has to be done on a 'clean' drive.
Use Partition Magic if you all ready have data installed on the drive. Just make sure you have enough room on the drive to make the partition.
Eg. You want to make a second 20Gb Partition, you need to have at least 20Gb hard drive space free to do it.

Quote:
Originally posted by Rawan AbuSalman
If im not mistaken, you can install another OS it if you have an OS installed and even if the existing partition is the full capacity of your HD...
But with windows O.S., install the oldest OS First.
Win 98 --> Win 2000 --> Win Xp
Otherwise, if you install Windows Xp on their first, when you try to install Windows 2000, it will take take the Windows Xp Partition. Or at least make it non bootable.

And if you are doing Dual Boot Window and Linux, install Windows First, then install Linux.

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
it is possible to do it after an OS is installed but it is far easier and safer to do it pre-install.
I second that.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Ofcourse you can resize the Windows partition and add another partition with programs like Partition Magic. I prefer deleting everything and re-installing everything, though. Makes me feel better cause it's safer.

Partitioning will only give a very slightly noticable performance boost, depending on how you use the partitions. Partitions are primarely useful for safety, in case you have to format the Windows partition; also very useful for organizing your files.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.