adding fans to your case - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2004, 01:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default adding fans to your case

can you drill through your case in order to make extra fan holes for you computer???

because mine only has rear and i want to get some fans on the side and top.
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

...i dont think its a good idea
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 01:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 85
Send a message via Yahoo to Aggdaddy
Default

You can, but it would be best to remove your electronics (system board, power supply, etc) before you drill. You don't want any metal shavings to land on your electronics.

Plan it out and use good tools to make a nice finish.
Aggdaddy is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

lol.. of course i would take out all my stuff

i mean like after i bought a new case not when it's running.

can i add extra fans on a brand new case by drilling through it?
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Default

Yeah you can, theres a bunch of ways of doing it too.

You can buy an 80mm(or whatever size u need) forstner bit and just drill the hole.

You can cut it out with a nibbler or whatever.

You can alse use a jig saw or a dremel.

Theres so many ways, I think the easiest is either the 80mm bit or the jig saw.
__________________
No time to sign.
w105 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Circulatory...."

You really need to take a look at this site:

http://linear1.org/mods/

They have that, And everything else youÂ’d want to know. Including building a Heat sink from scratch, and even PAINTING your computer a different color!
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 06:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I have a really old computer, like 1GHz T-Bird, 512MB SDRAM, 128MB Radeon 9000 Pro.

Check this out

It used to have a 850MHz Athlon in it, when I removed it I took the CPU fan from it and drilled a hole in my case about the same size. I took the fan and screwed it to the side, it works also.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

thats a great site i like the neon ball mod
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 02:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

thx for the help guys

and that site's awesome. i should bookmark it.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 02:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 123
Default

oh yeah correction to my post....when i said forstner bit I ment to say 80mm holesaw.

I was in the garage messing around with an old body panel and I was like oh yeah its a holesaw not a forstner bit lol.
__________________

__________________
No time to sign.
w105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.