Act of changing clocks lowers lifetime? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2006, 09:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default Act of changing clocks lowers lifetime?

Ok I read somewhere (maybe it was on the forums I forget) that the act of changing the clock speeds on your video card shortens the lifespan. I'm not talking about leaving it OCed, I know that generally lowers the life span. I mean the actual act of changing the clock speed, be it up or down.

Is this true? If it is should I be concerned that I minimize from 3d games to windows all the time (windows has diff clock settings then 3d games on my machine, so its has to change the clocks when it minimizes)?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Yes, overclocking does reduce the lifespan of hardware. Reason is, your pushing them to their limits. The lifespan of most hardware is somewhere around hundreds of thousands of hours. Basically by the time the hardware dies, it will be so old that you will have probably updated since then.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

but they have like 1,000,000 hours or something redictulous like that.
__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Err I tried to make it clear what I meant, I guess I didnt. I mean does actually switching the clock speeds change the lifetime. I know that having it OCed will. For example, say I change my clock speed from on something from 50 to 51mhz then back and forth a whole lot of times. Does the actual switch of the speeds have any effect on its life.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I would say yes, because going from the slow speeds it uses while in windows to the high speeds used in games isn't easy on the core....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

i would also say yes, especially when it goes from lower to higher clock speeds.
BYOC.info is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 11:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

So how bad is it then, since on my nvidia card I've got a seperate OC for my 3d performance mode. Do most people just do what I'm doing and not worry about the life of the card?
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Its probably better to have lower clock settings for 2D than 3D. The switching back and forth will probably have less of an effect than having both 3D and 2D at high settings all the time.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Going from the 300Mhz to 500Mhz clock on my GPU isn't easy on it, it would be a lot easier on the GPU to go from 400 to 500 or just to stay at 500 at all times... There won't be any real overclocking keeping it at 500 while in windows. And I am talking about my 6600GT...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 05:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

to be honest i hvae never heard of this before. the idea that changing clocks from stock 50mhz to 49mhz would shorten lifespan

i would expect that if that did have a differance on lifespan nvidia would not make the card change clock speeds whenever u open a 3d ap
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.