AC for a computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 06:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default AC for a computer?

well i haven't looked into it hardly at all as to costs, efficiency or how much electricity it would take to run it but...i work in a video/furnature combo store (i know it's messed up to have both sets in one store.)

anyways i got to thinking...i could buy a cheapo fridge and use the cooling system for that as something to model it after and then if it's small enough put it inside a full tower case. I don't actually think it'd work but just think of what it'd be like if it did. lol

i was basically just thinking of if it'd work to take freon out of an old refridgerator and put it into a liquid cooling stystem. comments plz.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

its poss and been done, very eefective, ju st have to be carful of the refriderants
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

....and also the condensation?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
....and also the condensation?
ooohhh i didn't even think of that.

BTW are you guys refering to freon in liquid cooling or just the components cooling the air that way?
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

First off, you cant just pour freon into tubing, you have to pressurize it, Also, condensation will be everywhere (i.e. water in your comptuer = NOT GOOD).


What your talking about is called phase change cooling and is essentially like this:


freon (which boils at a LOW temperature (compared to H2O)) runs throught the pipe and as it heats up, turns into a gas (boils) the gas runs to a compressor which compresses the gas back to a liquid form. This is an over simplified explanation, but its what phase change does.

Everything is based on the Pressure/Temprature/Volume model.

There are phase change cooling kits out there if you look for them. expensive buggers though.
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

ok thanks toxic. that helps. i figured that there'd be something out there but i didn't know what it'd be called or anything. anybody ever used one or heard of one being used and OCing w/ one in the system?

i bet you could OC like crazy w/ that in there.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

What do you guys think of this?
http://www.crazypc.com/products/938200.html
Cheaper then Phase Change, but I bet it's still good.....brings temps below the ambient temp of the room, it says.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
What do you guys think of this?
http://www.crazypc.com/products/938200.html
Cheaper then Phase Change, but I bet it's still good.....brings temps below the ambient temp of the room, it says.
That uses Peltiers to cool the liquid. From the few reviews I have seen, it does the job nicely, but I think that the tubes are a bit small, and the results would not be anywhere close to the phase change. I would guess it would perform the same as a ~$300 WC kit.

Lemme find the review...
Spartan is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

yeah that's really expensive but i can't expect such a thing to be cheap. and something that i'm talking about would have the liquid well below room temp. not just below. i'm talking like 5-10C or below before it gets to Heatsinks.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

what about if you just took your computer and stuck it inside of a regular rerigerator? would that work?
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.