About to Overclock......need advice and patience. - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 09:47 AM   #61 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

what is your ambient tempurature in and outside of the case

i would think you would be able to hit 3
i use a 1.8ghz and the highest ive gotten it stable is 2180mhz with the stockcpu cooler
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:32 PM   #62 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

My ambient temp inside my case when idle is around 25c-27c, and my cpu temp is around 38-40 (goes to high 40's when playing online Multiplayer games after 2 hours or so.) I haven't overclocked anymore but will overclock tonight and see if i can't get it to around 2.9 GHz. If i get to 3 GHz that will be all she wrote

BTW - Thanks for all the help you guys have given me.
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 04:41 PM   #63 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I think it's that XFX 6600GT that's holding you back, XFX aren't really the..........har har just kidding dude, sorry bad joke I know
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:39 PM   #64 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

(Hands around Nubuis neck) LEAVE MY XFX 6600gt Outta this!!!!! LOL.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:02 PM   #65 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

It's a process but i'm almost at 3.0GHz Heres my O.C so far.....

CPU Clock 2969.93 MHz (original: 2400 MHz, overclock: 24%)

CPU FSB 164.99 MHz (original: 133 MHz, overclock: 24%)

Tested this with 12 hours of Prime95....should i test my O.C with anything else? Another program?
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:24 PM   #66 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 152
Default

how much did you mess with your voltage madwad? how high did you increase it?
joshshift is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 07:04 PM   #67 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Joshshift, I changed my Voltage up .05 (Why you ask? because i had O.C so far and thought it would be a good idea....it was not)and my computer got really upset (talked about it previously in this thread). So basically my voltage is the same as it was when i started O.C. Anyways i'm O.C an Intel so it might be different for an AMD (voltage wise) but i'm sure someone else in this fourm could clear that up for us. Anyone?
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 07:37 PM   #68 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 152
Default

i just wanted to know, for reference sake. i have an amd and it got unstable at 2.4ghz (originally 1.8) wondering if a voltage increase might help but i dought it because windows went corrupt...not a hardware issue. i wonder if there is a way around my windows corruption so that i can OC even more.
joshshift is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 04:54 AM   #69 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Tested this with 12 hours of Prime95....should i test my O.C with anything else? Another program?
Play games for a couple hours, games like doom3, HL2, far cry, run 3dmark05 and 03 in a few loops, or just leave it for a couple hours or so, if it passes all of these things without troubles it's stable.

AMD's IMO are more fun and intriquite to overclock simply because it seems like theres a lot more things to tweak....Intels it's like....raise FSB add voltage boom overclocked.....with AMD64's especially the RAM alone is an insane process in overclocking with all the tons of options in the program AMD64 tweaker
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 05:25 PM   #70 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Ok. Prime95 finally failed.....So increase my voltage and try again, right? The only thing is when i increased my voltage before it seemed to screw my system up, was that because there was no need for me to increase it? And will increasing to now straighten everything out? Anyways i guess i'll try
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.